COVID-19 Procedures: All business with the Commission should be through electronic filing systems, email, or by telephone. For public health safety, in-person visits to SCC offices are suspended. Filings or other deliveries are permitted by drop off at main entrance. On-site staff is minimal and processing of such deliveries may be delayed.
2021 Franchise Renewal and Amendment Filing Requirements
Applications to renew or amend a franchise registration or exemption should include a cover letter, a check made payable to Treasurer of Virginia to cover the applicable fee (Renewal - $250; Amendment - $100), and a CD Rom or thumb drive containing all required documents in PDF format. Please do not submit paper FDD documents.
Electronic filing is not required but can be done via the NASAA EFD UFT system (in lieu of the physical filing described above: See www.efdnasaa.org.
The Virginia Retail Franchising Act governs the offer and sale of franchises in Virginia. The goal of the Virginia Retail Franchising Act is to provide presale disclosure and other protections for prospective franchisees.
All franchises offered or sold in Virginia must either be registered or exempt from registration. (§ 13.1-560)
Exemption from Franchise Registration
Certain exemptions from franchise registration are available. The exemptions are based on the experience and financial condition of the franchisor, or the characteristics of the offer or grant of the franchise. To rely on an exemption, the franchisor may need to make a filing with the Division before offering or selling a franchise.
Exemptions from franchise registration, and filing requirements necessary to claim an exemption, are contained in 21 VAC 5-110-75