COVID-19 Procedures: All business with the Commission should be through electronic filing systems, email, or by telephone. For public health safety, in-person visits to SCC offices are suspended. Filings or other deliveries are permitted by drop off at main entrance. On-site staff is minimal and processing of such deliveries may be delayed.
Insurance Agents & Agencies
Some Pearson VUE-owned and operated Pearson Professional Centers are becoming available for testing in Virginia.
Candidates can schedule an exam starting May 1. Check for local test center availability before scheduling your exam. Visit Pearson VUE, then log in to your account to search for a test center that's open near you.
Due to the unpredictability of test center availability at this time, we encourage you to confirm your appointment with the scheduled test center in advance.
In addition, Pearson VUE will continue to deliver exams to any independent third-party test centers (PVTC and PVTC Selects) that are able to operate within Virginia.
Due to social distancing restrictions, test sites will operate at approximately 50% capacity with limited appointment availability.
Bureau of Insurance Extends Time for Application Submissions, Processing
The Virginia Bureau of Insurance extended the timeframe for applicants to submit required documentation from 30 days to 90 days. Application processing may exceed 15 business days. To check your application status or view license/appointment information, go to License Search.
Our regulatory mission: to ensure that citizens of the Commonwealth are provided with access to adequate and reliable insurance protection; that the insurance companies selling policies are financially sound to support payment of claims; that the agents selling company policies are qualified and conduct their business according to statutory and regulatory requirements, as well as acceptable standards of conduct; and that the insurance policies are of high quality, are understandable and are fairly priced.
The Bureau licenses, regulates, investigates and examines insurance companies, agencies and agents on behalf of the citizens of the Commonwealth of Virginia. The Bureau of Insurance also registers, examines and investigates (title) real estate settlement agents and agencies.
Notify me of updates to this page
Prometric Insurance Licensing Exams
The Bureau of Insurance has contracted with Prometric to become the new test provider for insurance licensing and public adjuster license exams. This change will take place June 1, 2020 and Pearson VUE will no longer administer licensing exams after May 31, 2020.
Starting April 30, 2020, insurance license candidates can begin scheduling exams to be taken either online with ProProctor or at Prometric Test Centers throughout Virginia. Virginia will publish new exams and exam content outlines. You can also call Prometric at 1-866-891-6396 to schedule your exam.
Viatical Settlement Brokers Anti-Fraud Form
All Viatical Settlement Brokers, as required by Virginia Code, shall within 60 days of licensure and annually thereafter by March 1 of each year certify to the Commission implementation of anti-fraud initiatives reasonably calculated to detect, prosecute, and prevent fraudulent viatical settlement acts. Review a copy of Virginia Code § 38.2-6011 E.
Download and properly complete the Annual Certification of Anti-Fraud Initiatives Form. Email completed certifications and any questions concerning your compliance status to VSBAnti-FraudPlan@scc.virginia.gov.
8:15 a.m. to 5:00 p.m., Monday through Friday (See scheduled closings)
State Corporation Commission
Bureau of Insurance
P.O. Box 1157
Richmond, Virginia 23218
In-State Toll-free: 1-800-552-7945
Agent Licensing: AgentLicensing@scc.virginia.gov
Bureau of Insurance
Tyler Building, 3rd floor
1300 E. Main St.
Richmond, Virginia 23219