Apply for an Individual Virginia Insurance License

Change in Vendor Providing License Examinations

Prometric is administering insurance and public adjuster licensing examinations. Pearson VUE no longer administers exams. 
Remotely proctored exams are available. Prometric’s ProProctor gives candidates the ability to test at home or elsewhere.
The Bureau working with its partner Prometric continues to expand availability of insurance licensing exams. Effective June 16, 2020 Virginia test centers resume full occupancy testing in the following Virginia cities: Bristol, Chesapeake, Falls Church, Lynchburg, Richmond, and Roanoke. This means substantial testing hours and appointments opening up across June, July and beyond.  Please note that appointment availability is fluid and available appointments may get consumed quickly at some test centers.
In addition, Prometric plans to deliver exams at test centers as they are able to open in the following Virginia localities: Abingdon, Alexandria, Ashburn, Chantilly, Fairfax, Glen Allen, Grundy, Herndon, Norfolk, Reston, Sterling, Virginia Beach, and Winchester.  
Candidates can also take Virginia insurance exams at testing centers in Bethesda, MD; Greensboro, NC, Hyattsville, MD, Raleigh, NC; and Washington, DC.
The Virginia Licensing Information Bulletin (Bulletin) and exam Content Outlines are available on Prometric’s website.
Register for examinations administered by Prometric online or call toll free 866-891-6396.
The examination fee will be $35 for each examination.

Extended Time for Application Submissions & Processing
We have extended the timeframe for applicants to submit required documentation from 30 days to 90 days. Application processing may exceed 15 business days. To check your application status or view license/appointment information, go to License Search.

 

Resources

  • Obtain a Criminal History Record Report (CHRR)
  • CHRRs must to be completed by the Virginia State Police (VSP). Have the report mailed back to you.
  • The CHRR must be less than 90 days old.
  • If you have been a Virginia resident for less than 6 months, you must obtain a CHRR from your previous home state.

For an additional fee, the candidate may request an expedited VSP CHRR through the following insurance industry associations:

Residents

  • Insurance licensing exams are administered by Prometric 
  • Register for insurance licensing exams with Prometric. You can call Prometric at 1-866-891-6396.
  • If you are applying for a Title license, you must complete a 16-hour pre-licensing study course and pass the Title examination within one year from the date the study course is completed

Nonresidents

  • Florida and Pennsylvania agents are required to pass the Title exam in their home state and Virginia for licensure.
  • You are not required to take Virginia’s pre-licensing study course prior to taking the Title exam.

Apply on Sircon

  • Residents can attach their CHRR to the application after it is submitted.
  • Nonresidents must currently hold the same license they applied for in their home state.
  • Attach any related documents to your application.

What's Next? 

  • Go to License Search to track your application status. 
  • Allow 15 business days for processing.
  • Allow 30-60 business days for processing for applications with misdemeanor or felony convictions.
  • Applications are closed after 30 days if all required documentation is not received.
  • Your resident license in your previous home state must be inactivated to obtain a Virginia resident license.
  • If you apply within 90 days of inactivating your previous resident license, you will not be required to take the exam or get a Criminal History Record Report (CHRR) for licenses held in your previous home state.
  • Your Virginia nonresident license will remain active during the 90- day period.
  • Your appointments will remain active unless terminated for other reasons.

Processing time can take 30-60 business days.

  • Reviewed on a case-by-case basis
  • Supporting documentation to upload with application:
    • Detailed written statement explaining the circumstances surrounding each offense
    • Copy of the charging document
    • Copy of the final disposition document
    • Copy of the sentencing order
    • If applicable:
      • Copy of court document indicating probation completion
      • Copy of documentation pardoning/expunging conviction
      • Copy of documentation restoring Civil Rights
      • Letter from applicant’s employer or prospective employer indicating they are aware of the felony conviction.
      • Copy of 1033 consent approved by your home state (nonresidents only)
  • Additional information may be requested upon review
  • Once a decision has been made the applicant will be notified

Federal law, 18 U.S.C. § 1033, disqualifies individuals convicted of certain felony crimes involving dishonesty or a breach of trust from working in the insurance industry. This ban may be removed if approval is given by the Commissioner of Insurance for the individual to remain or become employed in the insurance industry.

If an individual applies for an insurance license, the Bureau will determine if a written consent is required during its review of the license application.

Individuals who will be working in the insurance industry in an unlicensed capacity must submit the Application for Written Consent to Engage in the Business of Insurance

Processing time can take up to 30 business days. 

  • Reviewed on a case-by-case basis
  • Supporting documentation to upload with application:
    • Detailed written statement explaining the circumstances surrounding each offense
    • Copy of the charging document
    • Copy of the final disposition document
    • Copy of the sentencing order
    • If applicable:
      • Copy of court document indicating probation completion
      • Copy of documentation pardoning/expunging conviction
      • Copy of documentation restoring Civil Rights
    • Additional information may be requested upon review