COVID-19 Procedures: All business with the Commission should be through electronic filing systems, email, or by telephone. For public health safety, in-person visits to SCC offices are suspended. Filings or other deliveries are permitted by drop off at main entrance. On-site staff is minimal and processing of such deliveries may be delayed.
Continuing Education Requirements
Resident Agents must satisfy the Virginia CE requirements if they hold one or more of the following licenses:Producer
- Life and Annuities
- Personal Lines
- Property and Casualty
- Life and Health
- Property and Casualty
- Find approved courses
- Resident agents must complete the required number of Virginia-approved course credits on or before the license expiration date.
- Resident agents must complete at least three credit hours of Ethics* in each biennium. Ethics courses categorized as Other General Insurance (OGI) credits will not be applied to the Ethics requirement.
* For consultants/producer only this may include Insurance Law and RegulationsConsultant/Producer
- If a resident agent holds a producer license and a related consultant license, then one must only satisfy the requirements for one of those licenses in order to be in compliance.
- Resident agents holding one license type, or holding both Life & Annuities and Health licenses, must complete 16 credit hours of CE.
- Resident agents holding two or more license types must complete 24 credit hours of CE, with a minimum of eight credit hours applicable to each license type held.
- No more than 75 percent of required credits may come from courses provided or given by insurance agencies or insurance companies. This includes all insurance companies or agencies, not just companies or agencies with which one is associated.
- Residents must complete 24 credit hours of CE which includes 3 hours of Ethics.
In conjunction with the renewal process, resident individual public adjusters must complete 24 hours of CE, 3 of which must be Ethics, every 24 months. Requirements are found in the public adjuster section of the Continuing Education Handbook.
The license will not be renewed if the public adjuster has failed to satisfy the CE requirements.
Nonresidents are not required to complete CE.
Visit Sircon to view CE transcripts, available course offerings, and approved providers.
- CE credits will not be awarded for courses completed before the license was issued.
- You are not allowed to receive credit for the same course in the same biennium.
- CE credit cannot be given for a duplicate course taught in alternative formats (classroom course, on-line course, video or audio conference, web-conference based, etc.) if the curriculum is based on the same published materials; this rule applies to any variation of course types.
- Excess CE credits will not be carried forward to the next renewal cycle.
Contact Pearson VUE with any CE questions:
Phone Number: 877-234-6093
- The Virginia Insurance Continuing Education Board is an insurance industry board created by the Virginia General Assembly to oversee the Virginia Continuing Education (CE) Program. The board has contracted with Pearson VUE to administer the CE program. The Bureau of Insurance is not involved in the day-to-day operation of the CE program.