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                                                                                     State Corporation Commission 
	Guide for Termination of Existence of a Virginia Nonstock Corporation
	



The method of voluntarily terminating the existence of a Virginia nonstock corporation depends on the corporation’s circumstances. Choose one of the following:

	1. If the corporation has commenced business, file both

	Articles of dissolution
	AND
	Articles of termination

	Complete and file form SCC904 or prepare articles that meet the requirements of § 13.1-904 of the Code of Virginia.  
	
	Complete and file form SCC912 or prepare articles that meet the requirements of § 13.1-912 of the Code of Virginia.

	Required fee: 
	Filing fee: $10.00
	
	Required fee: 
	Filing Fee: $10.00

	Total required fees:
	Total Filing Fees: $20.00

	2. If the corporation has not commenced business, file

	Articles of termination by Initial Directors or Incorporators

	A majority of the initial directors or, if there are none, the incorporators must complete and file form SCC913, or prepare articles that meet the requirements of § 13.1-913 of the Code of Virginia.

	Required fee: 
	Filing Fee: $10.00

	File Online Today
	Paper Filing

	Visit https://cis.scc.virginia.gov to file articles of dissolution and/or termination of a Virginia Nonstock Corporation in real time.
Questions?
Visit the CIS help page at https://scc.virginia.gov/pages/CIS-Help for how-to guides, answers to frequently asked questions, and helpful videos.
	Download from https://scc.virginia.gov/pages/Virginia-Nonstock-Corporations complete, print, and mail or deliver to below address:

State Corporation Commission     Courier Delivery Address
Clerk’s Office                                     1300 E. Main St, 1st floor
P.O. Box 1197                                   Richmond, VA 23219
Richmond, VA 23218-1197

	Pay online with a credit card or eCheck. No additional processing fees apply for filing online.
	Include a check payable to State Corporation Commission.  
DO NOT SEND CASH.   





NOTE: A corporation that has wound up its affairs and ceased conducting business, without more, will continue to have legal existence. The corporation will maintain its legal existence, remain active on the Commission's records, remain liable for paying annual registration fees and be responsible for filing annual reports until a certificate of termination of corporate existence has been recorded in the Clerk's Office of the Commission (or the corporation has otherwise ceased to exist due to automatic termination, merger, etc.).
 



See Forms and Instructions that follow 
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Both forms SCC904 and SCC912 follow.







INSTRUCTIONS TO FORM SCC904 - ARTICLES OF DISSOLUTION OF A 
VIRGINIA NONSTOCK CORPORATION 

	Filing Requirements

	Pay all fees and penalties before submitting these articles to the Commission. If these articles are filed and a certificate of dissolution is issued with an effective date on or before the annual registration fee due date, payment of the registration fee for the current year is not required prior to filing the articles.

	Required Fees
	Filing fee: $10.00

	File Online Today
	Paper Filing

	Visit https://cis.scc.virginia.gov to file articles of dissolution for a Virginia Nonstock Corporation in real time.

Questions?
Visit the CIS help page at https://scc.virginia.gov/pages/CIS-Help for how-to guides, answers to frequently asked questions, and helpful videos.
	Download from https://scc.virginia.gov/pages/Virginia-Nonstock-Corporations complete, print, and mail or deliver to below address:

State Corporation Commission     Courier Delivery Address
Clerk’s Office                                     1300 E. Main St, 1st floor
P.O. Box 1197                                   Richmond, VA 23219
Richmond, VA 23218-1197

	Pay online with a credit card or eCheck. No additional processing fees apply for filing online.
	Include a check payable to State Corporation Commission.  
DO NOT SEND CASH.   



Specific Instructions


Article I Name
State the exact name of the corporation as currently on file with the Commission.

Article II Dissolution Date
State the date dissolution was authorized. 

Article III Dissolution Approval 
If the corporation has no members or no members have voting rights, check the box in part A and go to the signature line. The vote required by law for approval is by a majority of the directors in office. If the corporation has members having voting rights, provide the information required in part B or C before going to the signature line. If the box in part C is checked, provide the information required in part (2). The vote required by law for approval under part C is MORE THAN 2/3 of all the votes cast by the members on the proposal to dissolve at a meeting at which a quorum exists, unless the board of directors required a greater vote or unless the articles of incorporation provide for a greater or lesser vote or a vote by separate voting groups, but not less than a majority of all the votes cast by each voting group entitled to vote at a meeting at which a quorum of the voting group exists.  
Signature
The chairman or any vice-chairman of the board of directors, the president, or any other of its officers authorized to act on behalf of the corporation must sign the articles. Include the date, printed name, title, and corporation’s SCC ID number below or next to the signature. Providing an entity phone number or email address allows for quicker communication if there is an issue with the filing.

Note 
The issuance of a certificate of dissolution by the Commission does not terminate the existence of the corporation. The corporation must also file articles of termination of corporate existence before the Commission can issue a certificate of termination of corporate existence.  Until this is done, the corporation remains dissolved but still active on Commission records and remains liable for payment of annual registration fees and for filing of annual reports.




Important Information
The articles must be in the English language, typewritten or legibly printed in black, using the following guidelines:

	· [bookmark: _Hlk508798520]use solid white paper
· size 8 1/2" x 11"
	· one-sided 
· no visible watermarks or background logos
	· minimum 1.25" top margin and 0.75” all other sides


Do not include Personally Identifiable Information, such as a Social Security number, in a business entity document submitted to the Office of the Clerk for filing with the Commission. Information in these documents is available to the public. For more information, see Notice Regarding Personally Identifiable Information at www.scc.virginia.gov/clk.





                                                                                                                                                                                                  




 Form SCC904 (Rev.09/21)
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Form SCC904 
(Rev. 09/21)
                                                                                     

State Corporation Commission 
	Articles of Dissolution of a Virginia Nonstock Corporation

	


Pursuant to § 13.1-904 of the Code of Virginia, the undersigned, on behalf of the corporation set forth below, states as follows:

Article I      	The corporation’s name:
                   	____________________________________________________________________________________

Article II     	The dissolution was authorized on __________________
                                                                                                (date)
Article III    	(Complete either A, B, or C, below, whichever is applicable.)
1.   The corporation’s dissolution was authorized by the vote of a majority of the directors in office.   
            Member action was not required because the corporation has no members or no members with 
            voting rights. (Mark box, if applicable.)

1.   The corporation has members having voting rights and the dissolution was authorized by the 
            unanimous consent of the members. (Mark box, if applicable.) 
OR
1.   The corporation has members having voting rights and the proposed dissolution was submitted to    
      the members by the board of directors in accordance with Title 13.1, Chapter 10 of the Code of   
      Virginia, and the following statements apply (1, 2 & 3): (Mark box, if applicable, and complete    
      (2) (i) or (2) (ii).)

(1) A quorum existed for each voting group entitled to vote separately on dissolution.

(2) Either (i) the total number of votes cast for and against dissolution by each voting group entitled to vote separately on dissolution was:

Voting group		   	Total votes FOR		Total votes AGAINST
____________                                  ____________                            _____________

OR (ii) the total number of undisputed votes cast for dissolution separately by each voting group was:

       Voting group			Total number of undisputed votes

       ____________                                  ____________

(3) The number cast for dissolution by each voting group was sufficient for approval by that voting group.

Signature


	Signature
	
	Date
	
	Tel. # (optional)

	

	
	
	
	

	Printed Name
	
	Title
	
	Email Address (optional)

	

	
	
	
	

	Corporation’s SCC ID #
	
	Business Tel. # (optional)
	
	Business Email Address (optional)


	
	Provide a name and mailing address for sending correspondence regarding the filing of this document (if left blank, correspondence will be sent to the registered agent at the registered office):



	
	Name


	

	
	Address
	



	Required Fee: $10.00
	





INSTRUCTIONS TO FORM SCC912 - ARTICLES OF TERMINATION OF EXISTENCE OF A VIRGINIA NONSTOCK CORPORATION 

	Filing Requirements

	Pay all fees and penalties before submitting these articles to the Commission. If these articles are filed and a certificate of termination is issued with an effective date on or before the annual registration fee due date, payment of the registration fee for the current year is not required.

	Required Fees

	Filing fee: $10.00

	File Online Today
	Paper Filing

	Visit https://cis.scc.virginia.gov to file articles of termination for a Virginia Nonstock Corporation in real time.

Questions?
Visit the CIS help page at https://scc.virginia.gov/pages/CIS-Help for how-to guides, answers to frequently asked questions, and helpful videos.
	Download from https://scc.virginia.gov/pages/Virginia-Nonstock-Corporations complete, print, and mail or deliver to below address:

State Corporation Commission     Courier Delivery Address
Clerk’s Office                                     1300 E. Main St, 1st floor
P.O. Box 1197                                   Richmond, VA 23219
Richmond, VA 23218-1197

	Pay online with a credit card or eCheck. No additional processing fees apply for filing online.
	Include a check payable to State Corporation Commission.  
DO NOT SEND CASH.   




Specific Instructions


Article I Name
State the exact name of the corporation as currently on file with the Commission.

Article II Distribution of Assets
The corporation must rid itself of all of its assets by paying claims, liquidating dividends, or assigning to a trustee or trustees for the benefit of claimants, members, or others, in order to file these articles. 

If the corporation cannot find any person entitled to a share of the assets, the corporation can pay that share to the State Treasurer as abandoned property.


Article III Voluntary Dissolution 
The corporation must have been dissolved voluntarily by filing articles of dissolution, and the dissolution must not have been revoked. 

Signature
The chairman or any vice-chairman of the board of directors, the president, or any other of its officers authorized to act on behalf of the corporation must sign the articles. Include the date, printed name, title, and corporation’s SCC ID number below or next to the signature. Providing an entity phone number or email address allows for quicker communication if there is an issue with the filing.


Important Information
The articles must be in the English language, typewritten or legibly printed in black, using the following guidelines:

	· use solid white paper
· size 8 1/2" x 11"
	· one-sided 
· no visible watermarks or background logos
	· minimum 1.25" top margin and 0.75” all other sides



Do not include Personally Identifiable Information, such as a Social Security number, in a business entity document submitted to the Office of the Clerk for filing with the Commission. Information in these documents is available to the public. For more information, see Notice Regarding Personally Identifiable Information at www.scc.virginia.gov/clk.


          Do not include Personally Identifiable Information, such as a Social Security number, in a business entity document submitted to the Office of the Clerk for filing with the Commission.  For more information, see Notice Regarding Personally Identifiable Information at www.scc.virginia.gov/clk.
Do not include Personally Identifiable Information, such as a Social Security number, in a business entity document submitted to the Office of the Clerk for filing with the Commission.  For more information, see Notice Regarding Personally Identifiable Information at www.scc.virginia.gov/clk.
Do not include Personally Identifiable Information, such as a Social Security number, in a business entity document submitted to the Office of the Clerk for filing with the Commission.  For more information, see Notice Regarding Personally Identifiable Information at www.scc.virginia.gov/clk.


                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                      










                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                            
















          Form SCC912 (Rev. 09/21)



[bookmark: _GoBack]Pursuant to § 13.1-912 of the Code of Virginia, the undersigned, on behalf of the corporation set forth below, states as follows:

Article I        	The corporation’s name:
	[image: SCC_mp - seal - no bgrd]
Form SCC912 
(Rev. 08/20)
                         
                                                            State Corporation Commission 
	Articles of Termination of Existence of a Virginia Nonstock Corporation

	



                      	____________________________________________________________________________________

[bookmark: _Hlk530554204]Article II       	All the assets of the corporation have been distributed. 

Article III      	The dissolution of the corporation has not been revoked. 




Signature
The person signing these articles certifies the statements in Articles II and III (and all other information placed on this form) to be true, under penalty of law.



	Signature
	
	Date
	
	Tel. # (optional)

	


	
	
	
	

	Printed Name
	
	Title
	
	Email Address (optional)

	


	
	
	
	

	Corporation’s SCC ID #
	
	Business Tel. # (optional)
	
	Business Email Address (optional)








	
	Provide a name and mailing address for sending correspondence regarding the filing of this document (if left blank, correspondence will be sent to the registered agent at the registered office):


	

	
	Name
	

	
	

	

	
	Address
	







Do not include Personally Identifiable Information, such as a Social Security number, in a business entity document submitted to the Office of the Clerk for filing with the Commission.  For more information, see Notice Regarding Personally Identifiable Information at www.scc.virginia.gov/clk.

Do not include Personally Identifiable Information, such as a Social Security number, in a business entity document submitted to the Office of the Clerk for filing with the Commission.  For more information, see Notice Regarding Personally Identifiable Information at www.scc.virginia.gov/clk.





	Required Fee: $10.00
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