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paid by retail customers to fund the PIPP
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Executive Summary

Appalachian Power Company (“APCo” or the “Company”) files this Application to request
approval of an updated Universal Service Fee (“USF”) to fund the Percentage of Income Payment
Program (“PIPP™) of $0.00132 per kilowatt-hour (“kWh”) effective June 1, 2024. To support this
effective date, the Company requests that the State Corporation Commission of Virginia
(*Commission) give expedited consideration to this request and issue a final order in this matter
by May 15, 2024.

The PIPP was established as part of the Virginia Clean Economy Act (“VCEA”), originally
passed in 2020, as a mechanism designed to limit the electric utility payments of persons or
households participating in certain specified public assistance programs, based upon a percentage
of their income, for customers of APCo and Dominion Energy Virginia (“Dominion”). The
General Assembly further addressed the PIPP, its funding, and implementation, as part of the 2021
legislative session with the passage of Chapter 308 of the 2021 Virginia Acts of Assembly.

The Commission issued its final order on July 29, 2021 (“July 2021 Order™), in the initial
PIPP proceeding directing, among other things, that APCo begin collecting the PIPP fee from
statutorily designated customers to fund the estimated start-up costs the Department of Social
Services (“DSS”) and the Department of Housing and Community Development (“DHCD”)
needed to establish the PIPP; calculate a PIPP fee on a per kWh basis to recover $0.6 million on
an annual basis; file tariffs reflecting such fee with the Commission; begin making payments to
the state treasury to enable DSS to undertake the actions necessary to establish the PIPP; and defer
its PIPP administrative costs until they were more accurately determined.’

Additionally, the July 2021 Order requires the Company to file certain reporting and filing
requirements, within 60 days after the DSS rules or guidelines are promulgated. The DSS rules or
guidelines were promulgated on June 26, 2023, and are provided as an exhibit with this filing
designated Attachment 1.

The Company and DSS are working toward a launch of the PIPP application process on
June 26, 2024. Thus, the Company is making this filing (2024 PIPP Update™) requesting to
implement the proposed update of the USF prior to the start of the program.

Introduction

The VCEA establishes, inter-alia, a PIPP for the Commonwealth, designed to limit the
electric utility payments of persons or households participating in certain, specified public
assistance programs to a specified percentage of their income. APCo and Dominion customers
are eligible to participate in the PIPP program. Section 56-576 of the Code of Virginia (*Code”

! Establishing the rates, terms and conditions of a universal service fee to be paid by the
retail customers of Appalachian Power Company pursuant to §56-585.6 of the Code of Virginia,
Case No. PUR-2020-00117, Doc. Con. Cen. No. 210730124, Final Order at 4 and S (July 29,
2021).
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or “Va. Code”) defines a PIPP-eligible utility customer as, “any person or household whose
income does not exceed 150 percent of the federal poverty level."

Va. Code § 56-585.6 A directs as follows:

The Commission shall, after notice and opportunity for hearing, initiate a

proceeding to establish the rates, terms, and conditions of a non-bypassable universal
service fee to fund the Percentage of Income Payment Program (PIPP). Such universal
service fee shall be allocated to retail electric customers of a Phase I and Phase Il Utility
on the basis of the amount of kilowatt-hours used and be established at such level to
adequately address the PIPP's objectives to (i) reduce the energy burden of eligible
participants by limiting electric bill payments directly to no more than six percent of the
eligible participant's annual household income if the household’s heating source is
anything other than electricity, and to no more than 10 percent of an eligible participant's
annual household income on electricity costs if the household’s primary heating source is
electricity; (ii) reduce the amount of electricity used by the eligible participant’s household
through participation in weatherization or energy efficiency programs and energy
conservation education programs; and (iii) reduce the amount of energy, regardless of
primary heating source, used by the eligible participant’s household through participation
in weatherization or energy efficiency programs and energy conservation education
programs. The annual total cost of any programs implemented pursuant to clauses (i), (ii),
and (iii) shall not exceed costs, including administrative costs, in the aggregate of (a) $25
million for any Phase 1 Utility...in any rate year in which such program costs are incurred.

Code § 56-585.6 B further directs:

The Commission shall determine the reasonable administrative costs for the investor-
owned utility to collect the universal service fee and remit such funds to the Percentage of
Income Payment Fund established in subsection E, and any other administrative costs the
investor-owned utility may incur in complying with the PIPP, and shall determine the
proper recovery mechanism for such costs. A Phase I and Phase Il Utility shall not be
eligible to earn a rate of return on any equity or costs incurred to comply with the program
requirements or implementation. The Commission shall initiate proceedings to provide for
an annual true-up of the universal service fee within 60 days of the commencement of the
PIPP and on an annual or semiannual basis thereafter. As part of any annual true-up case,
each Phase | and Phase II Utility shall report to the Commission any data or forecasting
required by the Commission regarding the participation by PIPP participants in utility
energy reduction programs.

Reporting Requirements

In its July 2021 Order, the Commission made a ruling in paragraph 7 establishing reporting
requirements to be provided in any future PIPP proceedings. In accordance with the July 2021
Order, the Company has provided the information requested and intends to continue doing so in
future PTPP proceedings.




1. The number of PIPP participants enrolled in the program (broken down by primary heating

source)

As the Company has not yet implemented its PIPP program, there are no customers
currently participating in the program. The Company has estimated program participation based
on current customer participation in other energy assistance programs. In total, it is estimated that
about 30,500 customers will participate in PIPP. Of these customers, approximately two-thirds
primarily use electricity for heating while the remaining one-third use alternative means as their
primary heating source. This information is provided in Table 1 below as well as Attachment 2.

Table 1
Electric Space Heating
Yes 19,783
No 10,721
Total 30,504

. Total Bill Credits Applied

The Company has not yet made its PIPP program available to customers. As such, no
credits have been supplied to customers. The Company estimates an annual total PIPP benefits
cost of approximately $13.5 million per year.

. Average Bill Credits Applied

The Company has not yet made its PIPP program available to customers. As such, no
credits have been supplied to customers and this data is not currently available. Based on Company
estimates, customers would, on average, receive an annual benefit of about $441. This averages
to a monthly benefit of about $37 per participating customer shown in Attachment 2. This
represents the benefit of both credits customers would receive on their bills for the difference
between their PIPP payment and their monthly bill as well as the 1/12 credit towards their
outstanding balance when they began the program. The Company also notes that this is net of all
other assistance customers received in the previous year.

Company Administrative Costs, Including a Breakdown and Description of Major Cost
Categories

The Company does not have an estimate for internal costs associated with administration
of PIPP, but will include one in future filings as the nature of the on-going administrative functions
is better understood. For implementation costs, the Company has currently incurred development
costs to implement the PIPP program that have been deferred up to this point. These costs have
been split into three categories, Financing Costs, Information Technology, and Business Unit
Development. These three categories currently total $807,827.25 in PIPP development costs. As
required by statute, no rate of return has been added to these development charges. The




calculations supporting these figures are shown in Attachment 3. The Company proposes to
recover these costs over one year.

. Department Of Social Services Costs to Administer PIPP

As of April 8, 2024, DSS uses about $2.7 million of the $3 million estimate for
administrative costs (DHCD receives the other $.3 million). The Company notes that DSS intends
to increase this cost estimate to $5.5 million going forward. As such, the Company used this $5.5
million figure to estimate the Company’s share of DSS and DHCD administrative costs going
forward.

Should DSS and DHCD not increase their cost estimates to the $5.5 million, those funds
will remain available in the PIPP fund for customer benefit or may be trued-up in a future PIPP
rate case at the Commission’s discretion.

. Number of PIPP Participants That Took Part in a Utility-Sponsored Energy Efficiency
Program

As the Company has not yet begun to administer PIPP, this information is not currently
available. This information will be provided once participation has begun, and information has
become available. The Company has concerns regarding this reporting requirement, discussed
later in the 2024 PIPP Update.

. The Average Energy Savings for PIPP Participants that Participated in a Utility-Sponsored
Energy Efficiency Program

As the Company has not yet begun to administer PIPP, this information is not currently
available. This information will be provided once participation has begun, and information has
become available.

. A List of Federal, State, Local, and Non-profit Energy Efficiency and Weatherization
Programs Available to PIPP Participants

DSS and DHCD currently plan on utilizing weatherization and energy efficiency programs
being offered by APCo and Dominion.

. Aggregate Energy Usage of PIPP Participants Before and After Enrollment
As the Company has not yet begun administering its PIPP to customers, this information

is not yet available. The Company will begin to provide this information in the next filing once
customers have begun to participate and receive their PIPP benefits.

10. PIPP Participant Arrearage Balances, on Average and/or in the Aggregate

As the Company does not have any current PIPP participants, this information is not
presently available. Should all customers make their PIPP payments on time and in full for 12




months after joining the program, it is estimated that about $7 million of presently due balances
would be paid off.

Proposed Updates
. Updated revenue requirement for the PIPP program.

APCo currently estimates that customers would receive about $13.6 million in benefits
from PIPP. Of these benefits, the Company projects most customer benefits will be disbursed
during the winter months, primarily November through February when usage is likely to be higher.
The Company also seeks to add $5 million to the currently proposed revenue requirement. Adding
an additional $5 million will help ensure that the PIPP fund has adequate money available to
benefit participating customers should the projections be incorrect and costs higher than expected
without exceeding the $25 million statutory cap.? The primary purpose of this is to avoid a difficult
situation for the Company, PIPP customers, and DSS should the PIPP lack funding without costs
reaching the current statutory cap. All collected funds through the USF would still go into the
PIPP fund and will be trued-up in the next PIPP case either six or twelve months from the
Company’s start date at the Commission’s discretion.

APCo proposes to collect $20,368,241.46 from its customers for its PIPP related costs.
The Company then applies the Virginia jurisdictional allocator approved in its most recent triennial
base case, PUR-2023-00002, to calculate the revenue requirement for Virginia jurisdictional
customers. This results in a Virginia jurisdictional revenue requirement of $19,252,260.69.
Support for this calculation is shown in Attachment 3.

The current PIPP USF is $0.0000407/kWh. The Company requests an increased USF of
$0.00132/kWh to collect its proposed revenue requirement from Virginia jurisdictional customers.
Please see Attachment 3 for the calculations supporting this USF rate. For typical residential
customers using 1,000kWh per month, this represents an increase of $1.28.

. When does the Company Propose to Implement the Increased PIPP Rates

APCo proposes an annual PIPP Rate year of June 1, 2024 to May 31, 2025. With PIPP
implementation currently scheduled to begin June 26, 2024, the Company proposes a rate year to
begin a month early to build the PIPP fund, so money is immediately available to participants
when the program begins. As such, the Company requests that this PIPP filing be given expedited
treatment to build the fund prior to the Company’s June 26, 2024 implementation date.

. Is the Company Proposing a True-Up for DSS PIPP Start-up Costs in this Proceeding?

No; however, the Company understands that DSS and DHCD will utilize all the $3 million
currently annually allocated for the start-up and initial implementation of PIPP. Additionally, as
previously mentioned, the Company does include an increase in projected O&M/ administrative
costs for DSS and DHCD to a $5.5 million annual total. Using the Commission’s previously

2Va. Code § 56-585.6 A.




approved allocator for administrative costs in the July 2021 Order, APCo’s portion of these costs
totals $1.1 million.

. PIPP Customer Participation in Energy Efficiency and Weatherization Programs.

In the Commission’s December 23, 2020 order, it was determined that participation in
weatherization and energy efficiency programs is a requirement for customers to participate in the
PIPP program.> APCo notes that in Attachment 1, DSS has determined that “Failure to have the
audit completed or to install the additional energy efficiency measures will not impact PIPP
eligibility.™

The Company notes that these are two conflicting statements and could significantly affect
PIPP customer participation in weatherization and energy efficiency programs. As there are
currently no weatherization or energy efficiency targets associated with PIPP participation, there
is no clear way to estimate how this might affect PIPP participation or availability in the future,
but may explain low participation in energy savings and weatherization programs for PIPP
customers when reported in future filings.

Conclusion

APCo provides this PIPP update pursuant to the Commission’s directives set forth in the
July 2021 Order. The Company seeks to increase the PIPP charge on June 1, 2024 to build the
PIPP fund prior to implementation and ensure the program will be properly funded for participants
in the future without risk of underfunding while remaining under the statutory cap. As this is the
beginning of the program, the Company lacks significant information to correctly adhere to its
reporting requirements and a significant amount of information has been projected using historical
customer data and estimating future customer bills.

There are also concerns regarding one of the reporting requirements and how energy
savings may not be realized as participation in energy efficiency and weatherization programs is
not a requirement under the current DSS guidelines.

In summary, APCo seeks to:

. Increase the USF to $0.00132/kWh intended to recover a revenue requirement of
$19,252,260.69 from Virginia Jurisdictional customers.

2. Obtain expedited approval of the increased USF by May 15, 2024 and implement new rates
effective June 1, 2024.

3 Establishing the rates, terms and conditions of a universal service fee to be paid by the
retail customers of Appalachian Power Company pursuant to §56-585.6 of the Code of Virginia,
Case No. PUR-2020-00117, Doc. Con. Cen. No. 201230196, Final Order at 9 and 10 (December
23, 2020).

4 Attachment 1 at 36.
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3. Seeks clarification on whether participation in energy efficiency and weatherization
programs is optional for PIPP customers and the effect this has on customer participation in the
program and/or APCo reporting requirements.
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1. LEGAL BASE

Chapters 1193 (HB1526) and 1194 (SB 851) of the 2020 Virginia Acts of Assembly, known as
the Virginia Clean Economy Act (VCEA), become effective on July 1, 2020. The VCEA,
among many other things, established the Percentage of Income Payment Program (PIPP),
which is designed to limit the electric utility payments of persons or households participating in
certain, specified public assistance programs, based upon a percentage of their income.
Changes to the PIPP were completed during the 2021 Special Session I of the Virginia General
Assembly and were updated in the Code of Virginia at §§ 56-576 and 56-585.6.

The VCEA established two overarching objectives for PIPP:
¢ Reduce the energy burden of eligible participants by limiting electric bill payments
directly to
o no more than six percent of the eligible participant's annual household income if
the household's heating source is anything other than electricity, or to
o no more than 10 percent of an eligible participant's annual household income on
electricity costs if the household's heating source is electricity.
» Reduce the amount of electricity used by the eligible participant's household through
participation in weatherization or energy efficiency programs and energy conservation
education programs.

Per the legislation, only customers of a Phase 1 Utility (Appalachian Power Company [APCo]
or a Phase I1 Utility (Dominion Energy [DE]) can be eligible to receive PIPP assistance. (Note:
APCo is also known as American Electric Power [AEP] in Virginia.) The State Corporation
Commission (SCC) is directed to set the rates, terms, and conditions of a non-by passable
universal service fee (USF) that will be collected from Dominion Energy and APCo residential
customers to fund the PIPP. The USF will be based on kilowatt hours used. The universal
service fee may be revised annually or semi-annually as part of a true-up process conducted by
the SCC to ensure that the fee is appropriate.

Households will receive an arrearage credit (of 1/12 of their arrearage balance) each month
when a PIPP payment is made on-time and in-full. If a household misses a monthly payment,
they will be allowed the opportunity to make up the payment before leaving the program so
there will not be an additional burden of increased arrearages placed on the household after
leaving the program.

The Department of Housing & Community Development (DHCD) will receive referrals of
PIPP participants from the Virginia Department of Social Services (VDSS) and provide
information on the current weatherization provider network. Every PIPP participant may
request an energy audit but is not required to do so to participate in the PIPP. Those who have
already received an audit or weatherization will be verified by DHCD and not placed on a list
to receive the audit.

TRANSMITTAL#24-1
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s Asa current requirement of weatherization services, DHCD provides energy education
to participants on the use and maintenance of installed energy efficient measures (i.e.,
thermostats, ASHRAE fans, smoke detectors, water heaters) and practical ways to
reduce household energy consumption.

» The Energy Assistance Program (EAP) provides energy efficiency/conservation tips
with an annual mailer to potential Fuel Assistance applicants (about 80,000
households).

o Participants in PIPP will be given education materials at the time of their application
and when they receive an energy audit. Additionally, the SCC website also contains
online resources for consumers in the area of financial literacy.

PURPOSE

The PIPP provides funding to reduce the energy burden of eligible participants by limiting
electric utility bill payments directly to:
s no more than six percent (6%) of the eligible participant's annual household income if the
household's heating source is anything other than electricity, and
¢ no more than 10 percent (10%) of an eligible participant's annual household income on
electricity costs if the household's heating source is electricity.

Note: Benefits received through the PIPP will not be counted as income in determining
Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP), Energy Assistance Program (EAP), public
assistance, or Medicaid eligibility.

CONFIDENTIALITY OF CLIENT INFORMATION

Virginia law (Section 63.2-102 and 63.2-104 of the Code of Virginia) provides that all client
records and statistical registries of the State Department of Social Services and of the local
boards and other client information shall be confidential and shall not be disclosed except to
persons explicitly authorized by statute and to persons having a legitimate interest in the
information contained in social service records. The Privacy Protection Act of 1976 (Chapter
26 of Title 2.1) mandates that all local departments of social services (LDSS) ensure that all
personal information collected is accurate, relevant, and necessary; and that appropriate
safeguards are maintained to prevent unauthorized disclosure of the information collected.

OUTREACH AND PUBLIC INFORMATION

Outreach services and public information will be provided. These may include the distribution
of new releases, the publicizing of websites and public service announcements, the distribution
of informational brochures, fact sheets, posters, and a referral to a toll-free assistance line,
government entity or community based organization. The availability of public information at
the state and local level will increase program visibility and public access across the state.

TRANSMITTAL#24-1
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By making program information available, the Program will be reaching low-income persons
who have transportation problems, have frequent changes of residence, or have communication
problems. For the hearing and speech -impaired, no cost service is available through the
Virginia Relay Center, by dialing 7-1-1. This service will assure that the information on the
program is available to eligible households.

Local Department of Social Service (LDSS) should assume the lead in identifying and planning
for the utilization of other available LDSS and community resources. For example, community
groups may be able to assist LDSS by providing outreach or transportation and completing
applications for homebound individuals. The 211 VIRGINIA Information & Referral program
is available; the scope of services offered is statewide, providing assistance to those individuals
requesting health and human services information and the database includes many community
partners, action agencies, and nonprofits across the Commonwealth. LDSS must coordinate
services provided with community agencies and other nonprofit organizations to assure that
energy and emergency needs are met and that services are not duplicated.

APPLICATIONS

An opportunity to apply must be given to all individuals during their initial contact with the
LDSS.

An application may be completed by the applicant or an authorized representative (a person
authorized in writing by the client to act on his/her behalf) and may be submitted at the time of
initial contact or returned at a later date.

Applications may be received by mail, in person, by fax, or online (through CommonHelp).
The LDSS must. affix a date received to each application. In order for an application to be
considered valid, it must be signed by the applicant or an authorized representative. The date
of the application will be the date the signed application is received in the LDSS.

To complete an application, the applicant will need:

e Household income documentation for the calendar month prior to the month of
application (Note: this period may be longer for those who have irregular income and/or
are self-employed);

e [Ifanon-household adult is applying on behalf of the client, an Authorized
Representative form will need to be completed (Note: documentation of Power of
Attorney, Representative Payee from SSA, or legal guardianship can be accepted);

e If not a citizen of the United States, proof of immigration status; and

* A copy of their most recent residential electric utility bill to confirm the account name
and number.

» Note: It may be determined by the LDSS that additional information that is not listed
above is needed to determine eligibility for the PIPP.

TRANSMITTAL#24-1
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LDSS will be responsible for processing the application for the PIPP. This will include
securing all information needed to determine eligibility and ensuring that the correct
information is in the eligibility system so a determination of eligibility can be completed.

LDSS are responsible for reviewing all applications for completeness and consistency.

The LDSS must inform the applicant in writing of any verifications or other information (e.g.
income verification) that are required. A deadline of 10 calendar days is to be provided for the
return of verifications or information.

Assistance necessary to obtain verifications will be provided by the LDSS.

Required verifications and information may be submitted in various ways including in-person,
by mail, by a third party, by fax or over the phone.

Once the applicant provides all of the necessary verifications, an eligibility determination
should be completed as soon as possible. If the applicant fails to provide the needed
information prior to, or any time the day of, the deadline, it will be denied. An eligibility
decision must be made on all applications within 30 calendar days from the date of application.

A Notice of Action must be provided to the client when an application is approved or denied,

when an approved case closes, and at the time of reverification of PIPP eligibility. A copy of
all notices will be retained in the case file within the eligibility system.

PRE-APPLICATION ELIGIBILITY DETERMINATION/DISCUSSION PROHIBITED

PIPP eligibility guidance must be applied to the facts of a specific application submitted by a
household; any additional information supplied by an applying household; and, when
applicable, the interview with the household based on the submitted application. Prior to receipt
of an application, LDSS employees must not provide advice or answers to hypothetical
situations from applicants, potential applicants, or, those acting on behalf of others. Until a
completed application is received by the LDSS and verifications are received, the LDSS cannot
be sure it has all the relevant facts. It is appropriate, however, to explain program eligibility
criteria.

RETENTION OF RECORDS

PIPP documents must be maintained for a minimum of three years from the month of the last
benefit issuance or benefit determination of ineligibility. Some records require a longer
retention period. This includes, but is not limited to, situations involving audits,

TRANSMITTAL #24-1
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investigations, and fraud. The retention period is dependent on the record type and activity
related to the record. Annual systematic purging of material unrelated to legal, fiscal,
administrative, or program administration is recommended.

Certification records must be retained for a minimum of three years from the month of origin of
each record. Certification records may include any material that documents the basis for a
determination of eligibility, ineligibility, and the benefit level. This includes documentation of
verifications requested in order to process the application. Records needed to support claims
collection activity must be kept until three years after the overpayment has been repaid in full.

ELIGIBILITY

To participate in the PIPP, an applicant must be a residential electric utility energy customer of
a Virginia Phase I or Phase II Utility. (As defined in the Code of Virginia, subdivision A.1 of §
56-585.1., a Phase I Utility is an investor-owned incumbent electric utility that was, as of July
1, 1999, not bound by a rate case settlement adopted by the Commission that extended in its
application beyond January 1, 2002, and a Phase II Utility is an investor-owned incumbent
electric utility.)

. APCo is a Virginia Phase 1 utility.

. DE is a Virginia Phase II utility.

Please note that DE is implementing the PIPP on January 2,2024. APCo will be implementing
the PIPP later in 2024. Until APCo has also implemented the PIPP, only customers of DE can
be eligible for the PIPP.

Applicants who are both already enrolled on a budget plan and do not have an arrearage
balance will not be eligible for the PIPP. Note: An arrearage balance is not required to
participate in the PIPP.

HOUSEHOLD DEFINITION AND COMPOSITION

For the PIPP purposes, a household is defined as any individual or group of individuals who are
living together and function as one economic unit for whom residential energy is customarily
purchased in common.

The household may be homeowners or renters. If electric utilities are included in the rent
payment, the household is not eligible for the PIPP.

A household living in a unit within a multi-family structure may eligible if the electric utility
service is metered and billed separately.
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Counting Household Members

[Examples

Counted

Not
Counted

[Tax dependents living in the household

Household members in military service

Household members temporarily (6 months or less) in a hospital/nursing home

Household members in a hospital/nursing home for more than 6 months or
ermanently

X
X

Children of divorced/separated couples if person/persons who has/have
LEGAL custody

Children of divorced/separated couples if JOINT custody, person/persons who
claim/claims children for tax purposes

Children of divorced/separated couples if joint taxes filed, the household that
applies for PIPP assistance first

Foster/Temporary Kinship/Temporary Guardianship (as defined by a court
document) children/foster adults

Adoption/Permanent Kinship/Permanent Guardianship children

Household members in prison/jail for an extended term (6 months or more)

Foreign students (on a student visa) living in the household. *Foreign students
may not apply as separate households

s

College students claimed as dependents for tax purposes.

College students that are not claimed as dependents for tax purposes.
*College students not claimed may apply for assistance for their own household.

X

Live-in Aide *Documentation verifying Live-in Aide designation is required.

X

Undocumented Alien*

X

*Non-citizens, those who are not a Legal Resident or not a Qualified Alien in the home shall have

their income counted but not their household membership.

The applicant's statement or declaration is accepted for the following items: residence, age,
social security number, citizenship, Medicare premium, and living arrangement. The actual
living arrangement should be questioned when more than one living arrangement is indicated
on the application. Contact with the applicant should clarify these situations.

CITIZENSHIP AND ALIEN STATUS

Household members to be either a United States citizen or an alien in a qualified immigration
status. An individual is not counted in the PIPP household size, if he/she does not meet either
of these criteria. However, his/her income is counted in the PIPP household's total income.

Alien status must be verified.
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Eligible PIPP household members must meet one of the following statuses.
a. Citizen - An individual is a United States (U.S.) citizen if he/she is:

1) born in the U.S., regardless of the citizenship of his/her parents; or

2) born outside of the U.S. of U.S. citizen parents (the mother if born out of wedlock);
or

3) born outside the U.S. of alien parents and has been naturalized as a U.S. citizen. A
child born outside the U.S. of alien parents automatically becomes a citizen after birth

if his/her parents (the mother if born out of wedlock) are naturalized before he becomes
age 16.

b. "Qualified" Alien - The Qualified alien statuses are listed below.

1) Lawful Permanent Resident - An alien who is lawfully admitted for permanent
residence under the Immigration and Nationality Act (INA).

2) Asylee - An alien granted asylum under Section 208 of the INA.
3) Refugees admitted to the U.S. under section 207 of the INA.
4) Alien admitted as an Amerasian immigrant.

5) Conditional Entrant - An alien admitted as conditional entrant under section
203(a)(7) of the INA as in effect prior to April 1980.

6) Parolee - An alien paroled into the U.S. under section 212(d)(5) for a period of at
least one year.

7) Deportee--Deportation Withheld - An alien whose deportation is withheld under
section 243(h) (as in effect prior to April 1, 1997) or section 241(b)(3) of the INA.

8) Cuban or Haitian Entrant - An alien who is a Cuban-Haiti entrant as defined in
section 501(e) of the Refugee Education Assistance Act of 1980.

9) An alien, and/or alien parent of a child battered or subjected to extreme cruelty,

and/or alien child of a battered parent who is battered or subjected to extreme cruelty,
while in the U.S.
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The applicant must indicate on the application that all individuals in the household have
declared their citizenship/alien status. As long as the signed application reflects an
unquestioned status of all household members, it will be considered accurate and current.
Refusal by the applicant to declare the status of any individual will result in ineligibility for
that individual. Any member of the household who has not declared his/her status or has been
found ineligible for a reason below will not be included in the number of household members
eligible for assistance. However, the gross income of that person will be counted in
determining income eligibility for the household unit.

Ineligible Aliens - Any individual admitted into the United States who does not have a
"qualified" alien status as defined by the Personal Responsibility and Work Opportunity
Reconciliation Act (PRWORA) Pub. L 104-193, 110 stat. 2105 enacted August 22, 1996 is not
eligible for the PIPP.

Aliens must meet a qualified status to be eligible for the PIPP. Alien status must be verified.
"Qualified" alien statuses and documentation of these statuses are listed below.
1) Lawful Permanent Resident (LPR) - An alien who is lawfully admitted for
permanent residence under the Immigration and Nationality Act (INA).

Documents verifying LPR status include:

. Alien Registration Receipt Card (Form I-151 or AR3a or 1-551); or
. an unexpired temporary [-551 stamp on foreign passport; or

o an Arrival Departure Card (I-94).

A LPR who is an American Indian born in Canada and covered by Section 289 of the
USCIS will have:
] Form I-551 with the code "S13"; or
. a letter or other tribal document certifying at least 50% American Indian blood
combined with a birth certificate or other evidence of birth in Canada.

Note: Form I-151, Form AR-3, and AR3a are earlier versions of the I-551. Aliens with
these versions should be referred to USCIS to apply for the [-551.

2) Asylee - An alien granted asylum under Section 208 of the INA. Documents verifying
an alien granted asylum include:

o Form 1-94 with a stamp showing grant of asylum under Section 208 of INA; or

. Employment Authorization Card (I-688B) bearing "Provision of Law" citation
274a. 12 (a) (5); or

. Employment Authorization Document (I-766) annotated "AS"; or

o Grant letter from the Asylum Office of USCIS; or

. an order of an immigrant judge granting asylum.
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3) Refugees admitted to the U.S. under section 207 of the INA.
Documents verifying these refugees include:
o 1-94 annotated with a stamp showing admission under section 207 of the INA;
or
. Employment Authorization Card (I-688B) bearing "Provision of Law" Citation
274al2(a)(3) or (4);
o Employment Authorization Document (I-766) annotated "A3"; or

. Refugee Travel Document (1-571).
4) Alien admitted as an Amerasian immigrant.

Documents verifying an Amerasian immigrant include:
. [-94 coded AMI, AM2, or AM3; or
. I-551 coded AM6, AM7, or AMS; or
o an unexpired temporary 1-551 stamp in foreign passport.

5) Conditional Entrant - An alien admitted as conditional entrants under section 203(a)(7)
of the INA as in effect prior to April 1980.

Documents verifying a conditional entrant include:

. 1-94 with a stamp showing admission under Section 203(a)(7) of the INA; or
o Employment Authorization Card (I-688B) annotated "274a12(a)(3)"; or
. Employment Authorizatton Document (1-766) annotated "A3".

6) Parolee - An alien paroled into the U.S. under section 212(d)(5) for a period of at least
one year.

Documents verifying these Parolees include:
. an 1-94 with a stamp showing admission for at least one year under Section
212(d)(5) of the INA. (Alien cannot aggregate periods of admission for less than
one year to meet the one-year requirement.)

7) Deportee--Deportation Withheld - An alien whose deportation is withheld under
section 243(h) (as in effect prior to April 1, 1997) or section 241(b)(3) of the INA.

Documents verifying these deportees include:
J Employment Authorization Card (I-688B) annotated "274a12(a)(10)"; or
. Employment Authorization Document (I-766) annotated "A10"; or
) an Immigration Judge's order showing deportation withheld under section
243(h) of the INA, or removal withheld under section 241(b)(3) of the INA.
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8) Cuban or Haitian Entrant - An alien who is a Cuban-Haitian entrant as defined in
section 501(e) of the Refugee Education Assistance Act of 1980.

Documents verifying a Cuban-Haitian Entrant include:
) Alien Registration Receipt Card (I-551) with the code CU6, CU7, or CH6; or
. an unexpired temporary [-551 stamp in foreign passport; or
] an 1-94 with stamp showing parole as "Cuba-Haitian Entrant" under 212(d)(5)
of INA or with one or more of the following notations: humanitarian parole;
public interest parole; or section 212(d)(5) parole; or
o Form 1-589 filed.

9) An alien, and/or alien parent of a child battered or subjected to extreme cruelty, and/or
alien child of a battered parent who is battered or subjected to extreme cruelty, while in
the U.S.

The perpetrator is a spouse, parent or other household member of the spouse or parent's
family who was residing in the home at the time of the incident but is no longer in the
home.

The alien must not now be residing in the same household as the individual responsible
for the battery or extreme cruelty.

The spouse or parent of the battered person consented or acquiesced to such battery or
cruelty and the alien did not actively participate in such battery or cruelty.

The alien has a petition approved by or pending with INS for one of the following:

J status as an immediate relative (spouse or child) of a U.S. citizen;

o classification changed to immigrant;

. status as the spouse or child of lawful permanent resident alien (LPR); or

. suspension of deportation and adjustment to LPR status based on battery or

extreme cruelty by a spouse or parent who is an U.S. citizen or LPR alien.
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Proof of U.S. Citizenship

Proof of Legal Residency/Qualified Alien

Birth Certificate/Hospital
Birth Records

Naturalization Papers/Certifications of Citizenship

Indian Census Record

INS ID Card

Military Service Record

Alien Registration Cards/Re-entry Permits

Baptismal Records (only when
place and date of birth is
shown)

INS Form 1-151 or 1-551 (Form I-151 will not be valid
after August 1, 1993)

U.S. Passport

INS Form 1-94 if annotated with either: a) Sections
203(a)(7), 207, 208, 212(d)(5), 243(h), or 241(b)(3) of
the Immigration and Nationality Act: or b) One or a
combination of the following terms: One or a
combination of the following terms: Refugee, Parolee, or
Asylee

Verified Citizenship for OWF
Program

Permanent Visa

Voter Registration Cards

INS Form G-641, “Application for verification of
Information from INS Records™, when annotated at
bottom by INS representative as lawful admission for
humanitarian reasons

Social Security Cards
administered by the SSA
(Social Security Cards that are
valid for work authorization
status only, will not be
accepted for citizenship
verification)

Documentation that alien is classified pursuant to
Sections: 101(a)(2), 203(a), 204(a)(1)(a), 207,
208,212(d)(5), 241(b)(3), 243(h), or 244(a)(3), of the
Immigration and Nationality Act

Court order stating that deportation has been withheld
pursuant to Section 241(b) (3) or 243(h) or of the

Immigration and Nationality Act. INS Form 1-688

OTHER NON-FINANCIAL ELIGIBILITY CRITERIA

The household must reside in Virginia.

The household must reside in the Virginia locality in which the PIPP application is submitted.

The household must have residential electricity service from either DE or APCo for the
physical address where the household resides.
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A social security number must be provided for all household members who are 18 years of age
or older that are not receiving public assistance and/or social security benefits, and/or do not
hold a Qualified Alien status. All other household members for whom a social security number
is not provided will not be counted in the PIPP household; however, the income of such
individuals must be included when calculating the total income used to determine household
eligibility for the PIPP.

If electric utilities are included in the rent payment, the household is not eligible for the PIPP.

Households that do not have an arrearage balance and are already enrolled in a budget plan at
the time of application will not be eligible for the PIPP.

Households who participate in Solar or Retail Choice programs can be eligible for the PIPP.

Households who participate in the Energy Assistance Program can be eligible for the PIPP.

INCOME LIMITS

The household income shall not exceed 150% of Federal Poverty Guidelines (FPG) by
household size.

MAXIMUM INCOME LIMITS
Household | Annual | Monthly Household Annual Monthly
Size Maximum | Maximum Size Maximum | Maximum
1 $21,870 $1,822.50 11 $98,970 $8,247.50
2 $29,580 $2,465.00 12 $106,680 $8,890.00
3 $37,290 $3,107.50 13 $114,390 $9,532.50
4 $45,000 $3,750.00 14 $122,100 | $10,175.00
5 $52,710 $4,392.50 15 $129,810 | $10,817.50
6 $60,420 $5,035.00 16 $137,520 | $11,460.00
7 $68,130 $5,677.50 17 $145,230 | $12,102.50
8 $75,840 $6,320.00 18 $152,940 | $12,745.00
9 $83,550 $6,962.50 19 $160,650 | $13,387.50
10 $91,260 $7,605.00 20 $168,360 | $14,030.00
For households at 150 percent of HHS poverty guidelines with more than 20 members add
$7,710 yearly ($642.00/month) for each additional member.
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DETERMINING, CALCULATING, AND VERIFYING INCOME

To be eligible, the total household Countable Income must be equal to or less than 150% of the
Federal Poverty Guidelines (FPG). The gross income, both earned and unearned, of each
member of the household is to be considered in determining eligibility. The gross income of an
individual who, due to a court order, is not included in the number of household members
eligible for assistance is to be counted in determining eligibility for the household unit. Money
that is paid to a household member by another household member is not considered income.

The household countable Income is the gross income amount before taxes for all household
members age 18 years or older less any applicable deductions for the PIPP. Income earned by
a dependent minor (less than 18 years of age) in the household is excluded from the total
household income calculation.

To determine eligibility, a household must provide documentation for the calendar month prior
to application for all income types except Self-employment, Seasonal, and Other Countable
Income which must provide up to 12 months of income documentation.

Each household member's total monthly income is rounded to the nearest dollar amount in
determining gross amounts. Forty-nine cents (49¢) and under will be rounded to the lower
dollar and fifty cents (50¢) and up will be rounded to the higher dollar amount.

Households claiming no income for all household members will be required to provide a
written statement from a reliable source. The LDSS may require a notarized statement from the
applicant if a reliable source is unobtainable.

An applicant's statement will be accepted for income over the maximum income level. If it is
questionable that the income is over or it appears the income is under the maximum income
level, verification must be obtained.

The income received by each household member will be verified as follows:
1) Regular Income

Regular earned and unearned income is scheduled predictable income for which a set pattern
can be established. All income, including self-employment or seasonal income that meets this
definition is considered regular income. NOTE: The income of school employees is considered
regular earned income

Whenever income is anticipated for every pay period in a month and it is received on a weekly
or biweekly basis, the worker must convert the income to a monthly amount by multiplying the
average weekly amount by 4.3 and average biweekly amount by 2.15.
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Pay received on a daily basis must be converted to a weekly or biweekly amount and then
converted to a monthly amount by multiplying the average weekly amount by 4.3 and the
average biweekly amount by 2.15.

NOTE: Households receiving monthly or semi-monthly income, such as a state or federal
assistance payment, or semi-monthly pay checks, must have the income assigned to the normal
month of receipt, even if mailing cycles, weekends, or holidays cause the income to be received
in a different month.

Verify and count regular income received in the calendar month prior to the month of
application.

2) Irregular Income

Irregular earned and unearned income is unscheduled, erratic, unpredictable income for which
no set pattern can be established. A monthly amount will be determined based on the average
gross income received over a period immediately prior to application. The LDSS must inform
the applicant of the method used to determine the income counted. If no reasonable period of
averaging can be determined, the income received will be exempt.

Verify irregular income by using two or more calendar months prior to the month of
application.

3) Countable Income

Anticipated receipt of earned or unearned income will not be used to determine eligibility.

Countable income must be the combined total monthly income received by all members of the

household. For example, if one household member has regular income and another has

irregular income, the irregular income would be averaged to obtain a monthly amount and

added to the monthly income of the household member who has regular income.

a) Gross earned income or gross pay (not the "take home" pay) regardless of deductions or
garnisheed wages, withholding, or work expenses is the countable income.

b) Profit from self-employment is the countable income. Profit from self- employment means
the total income received less the allowable business expenses directly related to producing
the goods or services and without which the goods or services could not be produced.

¢) Gross unearned income (regardless of deductions such as recoupments) received by
individuals is the countable income.

4) Verification of Income

a) Earned income is verified by pay stubs, pay envelopes, or written statements from
employers. If none of the aforementioned verifications can be obtained, telephone verification
may be used. Adequate documentation must be recorded in the case file.
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If the household is missing one pay stub but has provided otherwise consecutive pay stubs, the
worker may verify the missing pay stub information by utilizing the year-to- date difference.

b) Self-employed individuals are permitted to deduct Internal Revenue Service (IRS) allowable
business expenses when determining income for program eligibility.

Self-employed individuals may provide a copy of their most recent filed IRS Form 1040 and
Schedule 1. For example, the amount listed on line 12, 17 and/or 18 for the 2018 return or line
3, 5 and 6 for the 2019 return must be used to determine business income. Individuals
submitting Form 1040 do not need to complete a Self-Employment Income and Expense Form.

Self-employment profit can be determined as follows:

1) Income from individuals (meals only)

An individual that takes meals in another individual's home but does not reside there
and is not included in the economic unit. Profit is the monthly gross income from an
individual or individuals, less a $194.00 food allowance per person. The individual

may furnish verification of the payment or household records may be used.

2) Income from renters/roomers

A renter/roomer resides in the individual's home but takes meals elsewhere and is not
part of the economic unit. If heat is furnished, profit is 65% of the monthly payment
received from each renter/roomer. If heat is not furnished, the profit is 75% of the
monthly payment received from each renter/roomer. The renter/roomer may furnish
verification of the payment or the applicant’s records may be used.

3) Income from roomers/boarders

A roomer/boarder takes meals and resides in the individual's home but is not included in
the economic unit. To determine the profit from roomers/boarders, subtract $194.00
food allowance per roomer/boarder from the monthly payment received and multiply
the balance by 65% if the applicant furnishes heat or 75% if heat is not furnished.
Verification of the amount paid may be obtained from the roomer/boarder or the
applicant's records may be used.

4) Rental property

Income received from renters, roomers/boarders residing in rental property other than
the applicant's home will be verified by the renter/roomer/boarder or the individuals’
records may be used.

5) Income from children in family day care

When this service is provided in an individual's home to children other than those living
in that home the cost of meals and snacks that were provided during the period the
income was earned is not counted. Allow $1.56 for breakfast for each child; $2.94 for
lunch/supper for each child; and $0.87 per snack for each child per day.
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6) Other self-employment income

Verify the individual’s gross income from self-employment bookkeeping records or
Agriculture Stabilization and Conservation Service (ASCS) records, tax return or other
appropriate information. Determine profit by subtracting business expenses or the cost
of production from the gross income.

Business expenses do not include:

. payments on the principal of the purchase price of and loans for capital assets
such as, real property, equipment, machinery and other goods of a durable
nature;
the principal and interest on loans for capital improvement of real property;
net losses from previous periods;
federal, state, and local taxes;
money set aside for retirement purposes;
personal expenses, entertainment expenses, and personal transportation; or
depreciation on equipment, machinery, or other capital investments necessary to

the self-employment enterprise.

¢) Unearned income includes all other income received by the household that is not received in
exchange for labor, services, or produce. Some examples of unearned income are: Social
Security benefits, alimony and child support, cash contributions, lottery winnings, retirement
benefits, and unemployment compensation.

Social Security and other benefits will be verified by an award letter, a benefit check, the SDX
(State Data Exchange), SVES (State Verification Exchange System), and SPIDeR (Systems
Partnering in a Demographic Repository).

Statutory income received by a designated payee and disbursed to a non-household member in
its entirety, or the mandatory portion thereof is not counted as income in the payee's household.
Statutory income is defined as income, which has been authorized to an individual by a
legislative enactment, such as Social Security and Veteran's benefits.

Other cash income will be verified by documents in the applicant's possession or by a
statement from the person or agency making the contribution.

EXEMPT INCOME
The following exemptions will be applied in establishing eligibility for the PIPP:
1) Home produce of the assistance unit utilized for their own consumption.

2) The value of SNAP benefits.
3) The value of foods donated under the U.S.D.A. Commodity Distribution Program,
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including those furnished through school meal programs.

4) Any payment received under Title 1T of the Uniform Relocation Assistance and Real
Property Acquisition Policies Act of 1970.

5) Any benefits received from the Community Service Employment Program (previously the
Older Americans Act of 1965, as amended).

6) Wages, allowances, or reimbursement for transportation and attendant care costs provided
by Vocational Rehabilitation (VR) for persons participating in Vocational Rehabilitation
Programs. The disregard is not applicable to benefits provided by VR to the family of the
participating individual.

7) Reimbursements and cash advances for expenses paid to participants in the Virginia
Initiative for Education and Work (VIEW).

8) Payments to Vista Volunteers under Title I; payments for services or reimbursement for
out-of-pocket expenses made to individual volunteers serving as foster grandparents, senior
health aides, senior companions, or to persons serving in the Service Corps of Retired
Executives (SCORE) and Active Corps of Executives (ACE) or other programs under Titles
11 and 111, of Public Law 93-113, the Domestic Volunteer Service Act of 1973.

9) Allowances, earnings and payments to individuals participating in programs under the
Workforce Investment Act (WIA) of Public Law 105-220.

10) Payments or benefits received under the Energy Assistance Program.
11) Income tax refunds, including the Earned Income Tax Credit (EITC).

12) The value of supplemental food assistance received under the Child Nutrition Act of 1966.
This includes all school meal programs; the Women, Infants and Children (WIC) program;
and the Child Care food programs.

13) Loans. Loans are funds provided to an individual with the understanding that the money
will be repaid. Note: The HUD-Insured Home Equity Conversion Mortgage (HECM)
commonly known as a reverse mortgage is considered a loan for PIPP purposes.

14) Scholarships, grants, or work study.
15) Part B and D Medicare Premiums when deducted from Social Security or Railroad

Retirement checks or when the household member is responsible for payment of the
premium. Note: The client's statement is accepted as to the amount of the premium.
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16) Reimbursement for expenses incurred in employment, such as job travel expenses
reimbursed by the employer.

17) Reimbursement for incurred expenses, such as insurance payments for medical bills.
18) Payments made to others on the household's behalf.
19) Non-recurring one-time income such as gifts, one-time earnings, or insurance payments.

20) Earned income (regardless of amount) of dependent children under 18 years of age (in or
out of school) living with a parent or guardian.

21) Patient pay amount for an individual who is a recipient of home and community based care
through the Medicaid Program. The actual patient pay amount will be exempted from the
individual's gross income.

22) Allowances paid directly to the household to assist with utility or rental costs.

23) Benefits received for attendant care from the Veterans Administration as an Aid and
Attendance Allowance.

24) Foster care payments.

25) Income, both earned and unearned, that is considered exempt in the Supplemental Nutrition
Assistance Program.

26) The value of childcare paid under the Child Care and Development Block Grant (CCDBG).

27) Payments through the Department of Veteran Affairs to children of Vietnam veterans who
are born with congenital spina bifida and payments to children of female Vietnam veterans
who are born with certain birth defects (P.L. 104-204 and P.L. 106-419).

INCOME DISREGARDS
$50.00 per elderly or disabled individual is deducted from the total gross income of the
household for out-of-pocket medical expenses. This medical deduction is considered a
programmatic income disregard and is applicable only to the PIPP. If an individual is both
aged and disabled, only one $50 deduction will be given for that individual.

e An elderly person is a person who is 60 years of age or older.

e A disabled individual is a person who is receiving Social Security disability, Railroad
Retirement disability, Supplemental Security Income as disabled, 100% Veterans
Administration disability benefits, or who has been certified as permanently and totally
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disabled for Medicaid purposes. Disability status is verified by the receipt of: social
security disability, a Social Security Administration letter determining a disability
exists, railroad retirement disability, supplemental security income (SSI) as disabled,
100% veterans administration disability, or certification as permanently and totally
disabled for Medicaid purposes

Note: A widow or child may receive survivor’s benefits for a deceased spouse/parent,
but they are not disabled and should not be considered as disabled.

RESOURCES

There is no resource test or limit for this program; resources are not evaluated.
PAYMENTS

PAYMENT FOR ELECTRIC UTILITY ACCOUNT

All PIPP payments for electric utility service for the household will be sent directly to DE and
APCo via ACH. No payments will be made directly to clients.

The maximum payment amount due from the household for the electric utility account will be
based on household income. The household will make all payments directly to DE or APCo as
appropriate.

The payment amount to be paid with PIPP funds will be determined each month through a
secure data exchange with electricity provider. The electricity provider will confirm the
account information including current charges (less any payments received from any source
including, but not limited to, assistance programs such as LIHEAP), arrearage balance, and
incentive credits to be applied to the account. Incentive credits are received each month that
the customer pays his’her PIPP Amount (i.e., the portion of the electric bill that the customer is
responsible to pay each month) in-full and on-time. The credits reflect 1) the difference
between the current bill amount and the PIPP Amount due and 2) a 1/12th credit of the
arrearage/past due balance (as calculated at the time of enrollment in the PIPP).

The amount paid for the household by PIPP funds will be communicated via the secure data
exchange to the electricity provider. This amount will be shown in the eligibility system.

If PIPP funds have been exhausted, DE, APCo, and the approved PIPP households will be
notified that requested payments cannot be made. No additional PIPP payments will be made,
and no additional applications will be approved for the PIPP until the PIPP fund has received
additional funding that is sufficient to resume the program.

TRANSMITTAL#24-1

Page 21 of 36 g,

£
@
€3
LA

9




VIRGINIA DEPARTMENT

APCo Exhibit No. [\93
Attachment 1 @

Page 22 of 36 g,

&Y

OF SOCIAL SERVICES PERCENTAGE OF INCOME PAYMENT PROGRAM &

01/24

PAGE 20 ua

1.

(2

PAYMENT FOR ENERGY AUDIT

PIPP payments for the completion of a PIPP energy audit conducted by a Weatherization
agency will be sent directly to the DHCD via ACH for an agency-to-agency transfer. The
amount to be paid will be based on a previously established fee for the PIPP audit as agreed to
by the VDSS, the DHCD, and the electricity providers participating in the PIPP.

Note: LDSS are not responsible for calculation or tracking of these payments. The LDSS is
only responsible to refer interested PIPP customers to the DHCD.

APPEALS

At the time of application, every applicant shall be informed in writing, of the right to a fair
hearing, of the method by which a hearing may be obtained and of the right to be represented
by others or by themselves.

The LDSS worker has the responsibility of informing the client orally of the right to appeal if
the client is dissatisfied with any action taken by the LDSS or the failure to act in relation to
his/her eligibility.

A household has the right to appeal and receive a fair hearing if the household does not agree
with the action taken on their application or case.

When an applicant is denied assistance, he/she must be offered the opportunity to request an

agency conference. Upon receipt of a request for such a conference, the LDSS must schedule
the conference within ten working days from the date of the request. The client's failure to
request a local agency conference has no affect upon the right to appeal. At the conference, an
authorized representative, legal counsel, relative or friend may represent the client. The
conference may be attended by the eligibility worker but must be attended by an eligibility
supervisor or the superintendent/director and the client or his/her representative. The
conference with the LDSS is designed to allow the client to request and receive an explanation
of the action taken. The intent of the conference is to avoid a lack of understanding on the part
of the applicant. The applicant should be given the opportunity to verbalize his/her reasons for
disagreeing with the LDSS. The LDSS shall respond to each reason given by the client, based
on current guidance. The conference should reveal that the action is appropriate or that the
action is inappropriate.

The local agency conference may or may not result in change in the LDSS decision regarding
action. Regardless of the result of the conference, the client must be provided with the
opportunity to request a fair hearing or, if an appeal has been filed, make a written withdrawal
of the request. The client must be advised in writing of the LDSS decision. If the client is not
satisfied with the LDSS action following the conference and wishes to request a fair hearing,
the fact that the conference was held will in no way affect the appeal process.
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DEFINITIONS
a. Claimant - A person who files an appeal.
b. Hearing Officer - An impartial representative of the State Agency to whom appeals are

duly assigned and by whom they are heard. He/she must not have been involved in any
way with the LDSS action on appeal. The hearing officer is given the authority to
conduct and control hearings and to decide appeal cases.

c. State Hearing Authority - A comprehensive term used to designate the State Agency
decision-maker in appeal cases; as such it includes the Commissioner and duly qualified
hearing officers, including the Hearing and Legal Services Manager, of the State
Department of Social Services, in whom the Commissioner has given full authority to
make decisions in appeal cases in the name of the State Hearing Authority.

Upon the request of either the applicant or the LDSS, the Commissioner may review a
decision by a hearing officer.

d. State Agency - This term, for purposes of Appeals, refers to the Home Office and to the
five Regional Offices of the State Department of Social Services. It is the responsibility
of the State agency to assure that appeal provisions are correctly administered and that
decisions in appeal cases are consistent with established policies.

€. Hearing and Legal Services Manager - An individual who determines, promulgates and
assures compliance with internal procedures, including processes for maintaining the
Commissioner's review of fair hearings. This individual also trains and supervises the
hearing officers, holds hearings, and renders decisions for the Commissioner.

APPEAL REQUEST

A fair hearing may be requested by a claimant or by a person acting as his/her authorized
representative (such as a relative, friend, or attorney), if he/she wishes the opportunity to
present his/her case to a higher authority because of dissatisfaction with the decision by an
LDSS. This request must be in writing.

The Appeal to State Department of Social Services form is to be made available to the
applicant when an appeal is requested. LDSS must help the claimant submit the request and
prepare the case, if necessary. Although appeals to the State agency will normally be by use of
the Appeal Form, a written request sent directly to the State agency by a claimant or his
authorized representative, clearly indicating the wish to present his/her case to a higher
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authority will be considered a fair hearing request. The request may be submitted to the LDSS
or directly to:
Hearing and Legal Services Manager, Appeals and Fair Hearings Unit, Virginia
Department of Social Services, 801 East Main Street, Richmond, VA 23219-3301.

Upon request, the LDSS shall make available information from the case file for the applicant to
determine whether a hearing should be requested or to prepare for a hearing, provided that
confidential information is protected from release.

An appeal of the LDSS action must be made within 30 days following receipt by claimant of
the written Client Notice of Action informing him/her of the action on his case.

The requirement of filing within the time limit is met if the request for appeal is received in the
state or local department of social service or is postmarked by the end of the 31st day following
the date of the LDSS notice.

DENIAL OR DISMISSAL OF HEARING REQUEST
A request for a hearing not filed within 30 days will be denied.

Every valid appeal shall be disposed of by a written decision, except in the following instances:

a. The claimant or his/her representative acting in his/her behalf may withdraw an
appeal in writing.

b. The claimant may abandon an appeal. An appeal is considered abandoned if
neither the claimant nor his/her representative appears at the time and place
scheduled for the hearing without good cause. When the claimant or the
representative fails to appear, the hearing officer will write to the claimant
giving him/her an opportunity to explain why he/she did not appear. If there
was a reasonable basis for the failure to appear, the hearing officer will arrange
another hearing date.

c. Death of claimant in a one-member household constitutes abandonment of an
appeal.

Such disposition of an appeal must be entered in the case file.

PREPARATION FOR HEARING

The appeal request, upon receipt by the Hearing and Legal Services Manager shall be assigned
to a Regional hearing officer who will validate the appeal and acknowledge the request by
letter to the claimant with a copy to the claimant's representative and the LDSS.
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When the request is determined valid, the appropriate LDSS shall prepare a Summary of Facts
of the case to be forwarded to the hearing officer no fewer than seven days prior to the hearing.
A general outline of this summary follows, although the content may vary to fit the particular
case situation. All statements made should be factual and phrased in a way not objectionable to
the claimant.

The Summary of Facts includes the following:

[dentifying Information
a. Name of LDSS
Name, address, and case number of claimant and persons included in the household
Name, age, relationship to claimant of other persons in household

b. Date of Request and Reason for Appeal (quote claimant's own words in requesting
hearing).
Statement of Agency Action
1) Give a brief, factual statement of the reason for LDSS action, or failure to act,
and the nature and date of LDSS action. If the claimant requested a local agency
conference, include date and result of conference. If LDSS error, negligence, or
administrative breakdown was involved, say so.
2) Give citation and quotation from the PIPP Manual of the guidance statement on
which LDSS action was based.
c. The summary is to be signed and dated by the director or his/her authorized
representative. The LDSS will retain a copy of the summary, which is the official
document for presentation of its case at the hearing.

The LDSS shall mail to the claimant or his/her representative, when it is submitted to the
hearing officer, a copy of the summary and any other documents and records which are to be
used at the hearing.

THE HEARING

The hearing will be conducted by telephone unless a face-to-face hearing is requested at a time,
date, and place convenient to the claimant(s). Adequate preliminary written notice will be
given of the hearing. The claimant will be requested to advise the LDSS immediately if the
scheduled date is inconvenient, but, without such notification it is assumed the arrangements
are convenient.

Any material from the case file must be made available upon written request to the claimant
and/or his/her representative. Confidential or other information, which the applicant or his/her
representative does not have an opportunity to hear, see, and respond to, shall not be introduced
at the hearing, nor shall it become a part of the hearing record. It is within the discretion of the
hearing officer to designate what is pertinent to an issue on appeal and admissible as evidence
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during the hearing, including the entire case file, if appropriate. Evidence admissible at the
hearing shall be limited to data having bearing on the LDSS action or inaction on an
application. No other issues or evidence shall be considered.

The claimant shall have the right to introduce evidence at the hearing. If the claimant was

required by guidance to produce documentation or verification of eligibility criteria and the

LDSS acts upon the question of eligibility where the claimant has failed to produce such

documentation or verification, the LDSS shall not be reversed upon the basis of such

documentation or verification being produced by the claimant at the hearing unless the LDSS:
a. was responsible for securing the evidence or information, but did not;

b. should not have acted without the evidence or information;

c. placed a demand on the claimant for evidence or information that it was beyond the
capacity of the claimant to provide.

If, during the hearing process, need for adjustment in eligibility status in favor of claimant
becomes evident, reconsideration or modification of the former decision will be made by the
LDSS. For instance, an error may have occurred in computation of countable income.

HEARING ACTIVITIES

The hearing must be attended by an LDSS representative and the claimant or a representative.
The client may also bring relatives or friends along if the client so chooses. The hearing officer
has the authority to limit the number of persons present. The hearing officer will coordinate the
activities at the hearing.

The LDSS will have the opportunity to clarify or modify its statements contained in the
summary and to question the claimant, his representative, or witnesses. The LDSS has the
same rights as the claimant to examine documents, bring witnesses, advance arguments,
question evidence and submit evidence.

HEARING DECISION

The decision of the hearing officer or the Commissioner as appropriate shall be based
exclusively on evidence and the findings and conclusions of the hearing officer. This
constitutes the exclusive record for decision and such record shall be available to claimant or
his/her representative at any reasonable time at the State Regional Office serving the LDSS.
Except as follows the decision of the hearing officer shall be rendered within 60 days following
the date the appeal request is received in Home Office. When the claimant or his/her
representative requests an extension or otherwise occasions a delay in the hearing, the time
limit is extended by the number of days the hearing is delayed. The maximum period of delay
is 30 days. The hearing officer determines whether the provision of extension or delay is being
abused and reserves the right to set a date beyond which the hearing and decision will not be
further delayed. This constitutes prompt and definitive administrative action.
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The claimant and the LDSS shall each be notified of the decision by a copy of the written
official report of the decision.

At the time the official decision report is received, the claimant, the claimant's representative
and the LDSS shall be given written notice of the right to request a review of the hearing
officer's decision by the Commissioner. A request for review from a LDSS must be submitted
by the director or his/her designee. To be timely the request for review must be received in
Home Office or postmarked no later than the 12th calendar day following the date of the
hearing decision. The request must include a statement of arguments. New evidence shall not
be submitted since it will not be considered in reviewing the decision of the hearing officer.

A copy of the request shall be sent to the other party of the appeal and any representative when
the request for review is submitted to Home Office. The other party must have any counter
arguments in Home Office or postmarked within seven days of the date of the request for
review. Only those counter arguments received timely will be considered during the review.

The State Hearing Authority, within a reasonable time, may reconsider any decision it has
made if there is new evidence that the original decision was not a valid one. In this regard, the
hearing officer's decision is also subject to review by the Hearings Manager.

All decisions are available for inspection and copying; if identifying names and addresses of
individuals in the specific case and other members of the public are kept confidential.

FRAUD

Fraud is defined as a material representation relating to a past or an existing fact which is: false;
made with knowledge of its falsity; or in reckless disregard of the truth.

With respect to receipt of PIPP benefits, fraud may consist of withholding information which
would affect eligibility for the PIPP. Fraud may also include giving false information in order
to obtain or use benefits from the PIPP. In either case, the criterion is the intent of the action or
failure to act. To determine that fraud exists, it must be established that the giving of false
information was done with knowledge of its falsity or that the withholding of information
which would affect eligibility for assistance, or the amount thereof was deliberate, with
knowledge of its implications.

In relation to fraud, the local department has the following specific responsibilities:

1) The LDSS must ensure and document that a clear and full explanation is given to the client
of the eligibility requirements for the type of assistance he is requesting or receiving; of his
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responsibility to give complete and accurate information related to his eligibility; and of the
provisions of the law with respect to giving false information knowingly or deliberately
withholding information which would affect his eligibility for assistance or the amount thereof.
The worker must explain fully to the recipient what types of changes in his or her
circumstances would affect his or her eligibility. The client has the responsibility to report any
of these changes within five days of occurrence.

2) When an applicant or recipient of PIPP provides incorrect information or withholds
information which would affect eligibility for assistance or the amount thereof, it is the
responsibility of the LDSS director or designee (i.e. fraud investigator) to determine whether or
not there is deliberate misrepresentation with intent to defraud, and to assure the methods of
investigation do not infringe on the legal rights of person(s) involved and are consistent with
the principles recognized as affording due process of law.

The LDSS director or designee has a responsibility to cause a warrant or summons to be issued
for every violation of which he/she has knowledge. In discharging this responsibility, the
LDSS director may seek the advice of the local Commonwealth's Attorney to determine
whether a violation occurred. The LDSS director or designee is to act upon the advice of the
Commonwealth Attorney as to whether a charge of fraud is or is not justified by the evidence,
but in the absence of such advice, the LDSS director or designee must decide whether the
evidence requires him or her to cause a warrant or summons to be issued. The warrant or
summons does not need be signed by the LDSS director or designee personally but may be
signed by the person having direct knowledge of the case and facts.

A determination as to whether fraud occurred must be based on a careful consideration of the
particular circumstances. Among the factors to be considered in deciding whether there is
deliberate misrepresentation on the part of the client are:

a. the incorrect or unreported information affected eligibility;
b. the correct information was, in fact, known to the client; and
c. the client fully understood the eligibility requirements and his responsibility for
reporting information, or
d. whether his failure to report facts was unintentional.
MONITORING

During the course of the Program, the VDSS will monitor localities' compliance with Program
policies and procedures by reading case files and reviewing locality statistical reports. At the
recommendation of VDSS staff, an LDSS Corrective Action Plan may be necessary. LDSS are
responsible for correcting areas of concern to ensure that the program is effectively and

efficiently administered at the local level.
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IMPROPER PAYMENTS

A payment is improper when:

1) The household does not meet the eligibility criteria.

2) The payment is greater or less than the amount for which the household is eligible.

3) The vendor has requested and received an amount to which he/she is not entitled.

4) Payment has been made to the wrong vendor due to an improper authorization.

Improper payments may occur as a result of LDSS errors or because of erroneous or
incomplete information supplied by the client or the vendor. Improper payments may be
revealed by several sources, including: LDSS Reviews, case readings, State Program Reviews,
or Hearings.

Responsibility for Error Correction

1) Client/Vendor Error

The LDSS must recover overpayments from the client or vendor when the improper payment is
the result of an error on the part of the client or vendor.

The LDSS must also recover monies from the client in appeal cases. The LDSS will make
arrangements for voluntary repayment of the amount of the overpayment. If this fails, the
LDSS will initiate action in accordance with the Code of Virginia, to collect the amount as a
debt, unless the administrative cost of such action would exceed the amount of the
overpayment.

The LDSS will not correct underpayments for the household based on client error. In cases of
client fraud, the LDSS will follow the recovery procedures prescribed by the court.

2) LDSS Error

Provisions adopted by the Virginia General Assembly in the Appropriations Act require
localities to reimburse the VDSS for payments made as a result of LDSS error. The standard
procedures for reimbursement found in the VDSS Finance Guidelines Manual for LDSS will be
followed upon identification of an improper payment by the VDSS or the LDSS.

If an LDSS error caused a payment to be less than the household’s correct benefit, the LDSS
must correct the payment with a local check payable to the PIPP. The household will not be
required to reimburse the VDSS or LDSS for improper payments resulting from LDSS error.

When the Program is responsible for the overpayment, the LDSS or VDSS may request
retimbursement but cannot take action against the household to obtain reimbursement if the
household chooses not to repay.

The LDSS must repay the PIPP for LDSS caused overpayments.
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1) Overpayments - Complete a Correction of Payment Errors (COPE) form and a PIPP Case
Payment Adjustments form.

If the overpayment is a result of an LDSS error, a local check made payable to the
Treasurer of Virginia and a Case Payment Adjustment form must accompany the COPE
form. The COPE form and Case Payment Adjustment form must be completed in
triplicate. The original COPE form, the PIPP Case Payment Adjustments form and the
check for the overpayment should be sent to the Division of Finance. A copy should be
retained by the LDSS for their records and a copy should be sent to the PIPP Consultant.

2) Underpayments - Complete a COPE form.
A copy of the local check, made payable to the PIPP correcting the error must accompany
the COPE form. A copy of the COPE form and a copy of the check are sent to the PIPP
Consultant. The LDSS should retain a copy of the COPE form and the local check for their
records.

REFUNDS

All vendor refunds will be sent to the PIPP Consultant for the locality in the Division of Benefit
Programs. The LDSS will attach a PIPP Case Payment Adjustments form indicating the state
fiscal year for which the refund applies. Refunds will be sent to the Division of Finance at the
VDSS Home Office.

CLIENT RESPONSIBILITIES

PIPP payment amounts will be set at 10% of the household’s countable income in the calendar
month prior to the PIPP application for households that heat with electricity and 6% for
households with a different main heating source. If the countable income in the calendar month
prior to application is not reflective of the household’s annual income, a longer period of
income will be evaluated to determine the household’s PIPP payment amount/responsibility.

Households with no income must pay a minimum installment of $10 towards their electric
utility bills.

Households that pay the monthly PIPP payment amount on-time and in-full will receive a credit
for the remaining balance of the monthly electric utility bill and a 1/12" portion of any
outstanding electric utility balances (arrearages) for that month. (The credit amounts will be
paid to the appropriate electricity provider via an ACH payment based on confirmation of the
credit amounts from the appropriate provider via a monthly electronic file exchange. The

credit amount that was paid will be automatically entered into the eligibility system and cannot
be changed by the LDSS worker.)
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FIRST PIPP PAYMENT

The household client must pay the first PIPP payment amount in-full and on-time to the electric
utility company by the due date of the current bill. If the due date of the current bill has passed
and the household has not made a payment, the household will be required to make two full
installment payments by the due date of the next bill. The household will not receive an
arrearage credit for the first month if the first PIPP payment is not made in-full and on-time by
the current bill date.

ONCE ACTIVE ON PIPP

Households that make PIPP payments in-full and on-time will not be responsible for the
balance of the monthly billed amount (the difference between the PIPP payment and the actual
bill). Note: if the PIPP funds are exhausted while the household is participating in the PIPP,
the household will become responsible for payment of the entire bill and arrearage balance.
Participating households will be notified if PIPP funds are exhausted.

A PIPP payment is considered on-time, if a household makes the payment before their next
electric utility bill is issued. Any payments made after the new bill is issued are considered late
for the prior bill, and the household will not receive a credit for the difference between their
PIPP amount and their actual billing amount or outstanding electric utility bill balance
(arrearage credits) for that month.

Additionally, the household will receive credits for any outstanding electric utility bill balances
(arrearages) when all payments are made on-time and in-full payments for 12 consecutive
months. The household will also receive a 1/12™ credit toward the outstanding electricity bill
balance each month that the PIPP payment amount is paid on-time and in-full. If on-time and
in-full payments are made for 12 consecutive months, all outstanding balances (arrearages) will
be eliminated.

Fees will not be assessed for late payments; however, the household will not receive credit on
the outstanding bill balance for that month.

Households are responsible for staying current with all PIPP payment amounts.
Households must report any changes in the household income or household members within 5

days of the change. The information will then be reported from the VDSS to DE or APCo, as
appropriate, as part of the daily secure data file exchange process.

Households must reverify their household income and eligibility for the PIPP at least annually.

Households must reverify their eligibility for the PIPP if they move during PIPP participation.
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If households are noncompliant with the PIPP program, they may be removed from the
program for 12 months. The household will be responsible for any outstanding balances
(arrearages) due on their electric accounts and may be billed for all credits received by the
household for making in-full and on-time payments.

REVERIFICATION OF INCOME

In order to remain on the PIPP program, eligible households must pay on-time and in-full each
month, reverify eligibility annually, and reverify when their income or number of household
members changes as well as when they move.

The household’s Reverification Date will be printed on the household’s electricity bill. The
Reverification Date is the date the household’s application/renewal was processed and the date
by which they must verify their household size and household income each year.

Households are required to reverify their PIPP eligibility annually or at any point throughout
the year if they have a change in their household income, a change in the number of household
members, or the household moves.

Households will be notified by mail 30 days prior to their Reverification Date. The letter will
remind the household of their Reverification Date and the information required to reverify. It
will also state that household may be removed from the program if they do not reverify by their
Reverification Date.

TRANSMITTAL #24-1

Page 32 of 36 fg;

frd




VIRGINIA DEPARTMENT

APCo Exhibit No.

Attachment 1 ¢

OF SOCIAL SERVICES PERCENTAGE OF INCOME PAYMENT PROGRAM
01/24 PAGE 31
PIPP CASE CLOSURE
The household will be removed from the PIPP and the case closed due to any of the following
actions:

Household Voluntarily Leaves PIPP Due To:

Joined Utility/Electricity Payment Plan

Utility/Electric bill is less than the PIPP amount

PIPP amount may be less than the actual bill, but more than the household can pay

Switching to 3rd Party Suppliers

Household request

Household enrolled in error

Finalized account; moved, or put in different name

Household Is Removed From PIPP Due To:

Over Income

Household Failed to Reverify

Household Disconnected for 2 Consecutive Months (Account Default)

Theft of Service

Tampering

Household Not Current with PIPP Installments (Account Default)

Shared (Master) Meter

(Master Meter - A utility/electricity meter installed in a multi-unit dwelling. The
utility/electric company codes these accounts commercial. If the household in a
master-metered situation is responsible for paying utility/electricity cost separately
from rent costs, each household is eligible for a separate energy assistance benefit up to
the annually adjusted maximum amount. Accounts that are coded commercial are not
eligible for enrollment in the PIPP program.)

PIPP Funds are Exhausted
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RESUMING PIPP AFTER PIPP CASE CLOSURE

The household may reapply for PIPP at any time after closure of the case. The household must
complete the following actions to be approved for the PIPP after case closure:

Circumstances

To Resume PIPP

Household voluntarily left PIPP and
wants to re-enroll within 12 months

Must pay all PIPP installments for the time
he/she was not on PIPP minus any payments
made during that same time period up to the
household’s arrearages

Household voluntarily left PIPP and
wants to re-enroll after 12 months,
and has no outstanding

arrearages

Required to pay the first PIPP installment

Household voluntarily left PIPP and
wants to re-enroll after 12 months,
and has outstanding arrearages

Required to pay missed PIPP installments
for the number of months he/she was not on
the program, minus payments made during
that period, up to the household’s arrearages
in addition to the first PIPP installment

Case closure was due to the
disconnection of service

Any past due installments, installments for
months they were not on the program,
including the time they were disconnected,
plus reconnection fees, minus payments
made, not to exceed the account balance

Case closure was due to all other non-
voluntary removal reasons

All missed PIPP installments plus monthly
charges for those months that the service
was on, minus any payments made, up to the
account balance

Case closure was due to
noncompliance removal

Household may be banned from PIPP for 12
months and may have to pay back accrued

and accruing credits household received

ENERGY CONSERVATION EDUCATION

For PIPP participants, being an informed consumer is important. There are many actions that
can be incorporated into a household’s daily living to reduce energy consumption and
potentially lower utility bills. The PIPP contains an educational component to provide useful

information and guidance for participants.
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The purpose of these educational efforts is to share energy saving tips, simple low cost or no
cost ‘do-it-yourself® measures and other tools that will aid participants in reducing their energy
burden and making their homes warmer in the winter, cooler in the summer and safer year
round. Information may also be distributed on household budgeting to help a participant to stay
current on their PIPP utility payments and avoid future arrearages or involuntary removal from
the PIPP.

When enrolling in the PIPP, a participant must agree to receive information and learning tools
through a variety of media. This may include printed materials, mailers, bill inserts, or
electronic information sent through email or social media postings distributed at various points
in time.

These contacts may be generated by the participant’s electric utility company, the VDSS, or the
Virginia Department of Housing and Community Development (DHCD).

ENERGY AUDIT

PIPP participants will reside in a variety of housing units. Eligible participants may be
homeowners or renters. Participants may live in a variety of housing types including single
family units, duplexes, multi-family buildings or manufactured housing units.

All PIPP participants will have an opportunity to receive an energy audit of their housing unit
based on the type of housing. The audit will be provided at no cost to the PIPP participant and
will be conducted by a qualified individual contracted through the DHCD to provide the
service. At the time of the PIPP approval, the VDSS may refer the case to the DHCD for
scheduling of the audit. DHCD will provide confirmation to the VDSS via a secure data file
exchange to confirm when an energy audit has been completed. At that time, the VDSS will

provide payment to the DHCD for the audit; payment will be based on a previously established
fee as agreed to by the VDSS, the DHCD, DE, and APCo.

The audit will involve a visual inspection of all levels of the home, attic, basement or crawi
space and will result in a report of suggested measures that, if completed, will increase the
energy efficiency and/or safety of the home.

Based on the type of unit, assessment and condition of the unit, the PIPP participant may also
be referred to receive additional energy efficiency measures at no cost. These services will be
provided through a network of established non-profit organizations across the State. The
programs are provided using various federal, State and utility resources and include energy
efficiency measures such as light bulbs, insulation, air sealing, furnace clean and tune, water
heater wraps, ASHRAE fans for air circulation, smoke and carbon monoxide detectors.
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There may be extenuating circumstances that could prohibit either the assessment, installation
of the additional energy efficiency measures, or both. Such circumstances may include, but are
not limited to:

lllegal drugs or drug use visible on the property;

Threatening language, actions or behavior by the resident to the contractor;

Physical conditions that prohibit the contractor from safely moving through the unit (i.e,
boxes, trash, furniture, etc.);

Building conditions that may compromise the integrity of any installed energy
efficiency measures (roof damage, plumbing leaks);

If the unit was previously weatherized using federal funds after September 30, 1994,
federal law prohibits re-weatherization with additional federal weatherization resources;
or

Resident’s failure to keep appointments.

Failure to have the audit completed or to install the additional energy efficiency measures will
not impact PIPP eligibility.
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Tota! Projected Bills
Total Balances Owed
Total Amount Due

PIPP Payments

Total Less PIPP Payments
Other Energy Assistance

Total PIPP Payout

$

62,979,715.60
7,139,357.85
70,119,073.45
32,405,449.16
37,713,624.29
(24,253,210.08)

13,460,414.21

Data Summary

Yes

No

Participating customer estimate
Min [ncome

Max income

Total Benefit
Benefit per customer
Monthly Benefit

Space Heating

W nn

APCo Exhibit No,
Attachment 2
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10721

30504

38,730.00

13,460,414.21
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F=D+E

H=G*F

I=H+F

K=J+1

M=L+K

0O=M*N

Q=0/P

Revenue Requirement Calculation

Total DSS and DHCD Admin. Costs
APCo Share

APCo Share Calculation
Information Technology Expenses
Bussiness Unit Expenses
Combined Expenses

Weighted Cost of Debt

Total Financing Cost

Total Development Cost
Projected Customer Benefits
Total Revenue Requirement
Reserve PIPP Fund Amount
Proposed Revenue Requirement

VA lJurisdictional Allocator

VA lJurisdicitonal Revenue Requirement

VA Jurisdictional Usage (mWh)

Proposed kWh Rate

Rate Calculation

5,500,000.00

20%

1,100,000.00

692,808.88

76,961.31

769,770.19

4.94%

38,057.05

807,827.25

13,460,414.21

15,368,241.46

5,000,000.00

20,368,241.46

94.5210%

19,252,260.69

14556877.21

0.00132
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APPALACHIAN POWER COMPANY Second Revision of
Sheet No. NBP-1

VA. S.C.C. TARIFF NO. 27

NBP RIDER P.I.P.P.
(Percentage of Income Payment Program)

This Rider is designed to collect the Universal Service Fee (USF) to fund the Percentage of Income
Payment Program in accordance with Section 56-585.6 of the Code of Virginia.

AVAILABILITY OF SERVICE

The Universal Service Fee will be applied to all customer service rendered under the Applicable Schedules or
| special contracts. The USF shall be calculated by multiplying the customer’s kWh by 0.80497132 ¢ per kilowatt-
hour.

The Percentage of Income Payment Program shall remain in effect until such time as modified by the
Commission.

Issued: July 22,2022 Effective: June 1, 2024

Pursuant to Final Order
Dated: July 15, 2022
Case No. PUR-2021-00206 & PUR-2020-00117
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APPALACHIAN POWER COMPANY First Revised
Sheet No. NBP-1D

V.A. S.C.C. TARIFF NO. 27

NBP RIDER O.A.D. -P.1.P.P.
(Open Access Distribution — Percentage of Income Payment Program)

This Rider is designed to collect the Universal Service Fee (USF) to fund the Percentage of Income Payment
Program in accordance with Section 56-585.6 of the Code of Virginia.

AVAILABILITY OF SERVICE

The Universal Service Fee will be applied to all customer service rendered under the Applicable Schedules or

I special contracts. The USF shall be calculated by multiplying the customer’s kWh by 0:80467.132 ¢ per kilowatt-

hour.

The Percentage of Income Payment Program shall remain in effect until such time as modified by the
Commission.

Issued: July 22, 2022 Effective: June 1, 2024
Pursuant to Final Order

Dated: July 15, 2022

Case PUR-2021-00206
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APPALACHIAN POWER COMPANY Sheet No. NBP-1F
V.A. 8.C.C. TARIFF NO. 27

NBP RIDER F.0.A.D. -P.L.P.P.
(FRR Open Access Distribution — Percentage of Income Payment Program)

This Rider is designed to collect the Universal Service Fee (USF) to fund the Percentage of Income Payment
Program in accordance with Section 56-585.6 of the Code of Virginia.

AVAILABILITY OF SERVICE

The Universa! Service Fee will be applied to all customer service rendered under the Applicable Schedules or
| special contracts. The USF shall be calculated by multiplying the customer’s kWh by 0.80407132 ¢ per kilowatt-
hour.

The Percentage of Income Payment Program shall remain in effect until such time as modified by the
Commission.

Issued: July 22, 2022 Effective: September 7, 2021
Pursuant to Final Order

Dated: July 15, 2022

Case No. PUR-2021-00206 & PUR-2020-00117
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APPALACHIAN POWER COMPANY Second Revision of
Sheet No. NBP-1

VA. S.C.C. TARIFF NO. 27

NBP RIDER P.1.P.P.
(Percentage of Income Payment Program)

This Rider is designed to collect the Universal Service Fee (USF) to fund the Percentage of Income
Payment Program in accordance with Section 56-585.6 of the Code of Virginia.

AVAILABILITY OF SERVICE

The Universal Service Fee will be applied to all customer service rendered under the Applicable Schedules or
special contracts. The USF shall be calculated by multiplying the customer’s kWh by 0.132 ¢ per kilowatt-hour,

The Percentage of Income Payment Program shall remain in effect until such time as modified by the
Commission.

Issued: July 22,2022 Effective: June 1, 2024

Pursuant to Final Order
Dated: July 15,2022
Case No. PUR-2021-00206 & PUR-2020-00117
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APPALACHIAN POWER COMPANY First Revised
Sheet No. NBP-1D

VA. 8.C.C. TARIFF NO. 26
NBP RIDER O.A.D. - P.L.P.P.

(Open Access Distribution - Percentage of Income Payment Program)

This Rider is designed to collect the Universal Service Fee (USF) to fund the Percentage of Income Payment
Program in accordance with Section 56-585.6 of the Code of Virginia.

AVAILABILITY OF SERVICE

The Universal Service Fee will be applied to all customer service rendered under the Applicable Schedules or
special contracts. The USF shall be calculated by multiplying the customer’s kWh by 0.132 ¢ per kilowatt-hour.

The Percentage of Income Payment Program shall remain in effect until such time as modified by the
Commission.
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First Revised
APPALACHIAN POWER COMPANY Sheet No. NBP-62F

V.A. S.C.C. TARIFF NO. 27

NBP RIDER F.O.A.D. -P.L.P.P.
(FRR Open Access Distribution — Percentage of Income Payment Program)

ESBBEFOVE

This Rider is designed to collect the Universal Service Fee (USF) to fund the Percentage of Income Payment
Program in accordance with Section 56-585.6 of the Code of Virginia.

AVAILABILITY OF SERVICE

The Universal Service Fee will be applied to all customer service rendered under the Applicable Schedules or
special contracts. The USF shall be calculated by multiplying the customer’s kWh by 0.132 ¢ per kilowatt-hour.

The Percentage of Income Payment Program shall remain in effect until such time as modified by the
Commission.

Issued: July 22, 2022 Effective: June 1, 2024
Pursuant to Final Order

Dated: July 15, 2022
Case PUR-2021-00206




CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I hereby certify that on this 12! day of April 2024 a true copy of the foregoing was delivered by

electronic mail to the following:

Raymond L. Doggett, Jr.

Arlen K. Bolstad

Andrew F. Major

Office of General Counsel

State Corporation Commission
raymond.doggett@scc.virginia.gov
arlen.bolstad@scc.virginia.gov
andrew.major@scc.virginia.gov

Nathaniel H. Benforado
Southern Environmental Law Center
nbenforado@selcva.org

Timothy G. McCormick
Louis R. Monacell
Edward L. Petrini
Christian & Barton, LLP
epetrini{@cblaw.com
Imonacell@cblaw.com
tmccormick@cblaw.com

C. Meade Browder, Ir.

John E. Farmer, Jr.

Justin I. Bell

Ellen R. Malenke

Division of Consumer Counsel
Office of the Attorney General
mbrowder@oag.state.va.us
Jfarmer@oag.state.va.us
Jjbell@oag.state.va.us
emalenke@oag. state.va.us

Matthew L. Gooch
William T. Reisinger
ReisingerGooch, PLC
matt@reisingergooch.com
will@reisingergooch.com

Shaun C. Mohler

Stone Mattheis Xenopoulos & Brew, PC
sem@smxblaw.com
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