Under Virginia law, a Virginia or foreign business entity’s existence or registration in Virginia can be reinstated by order of the Commission within 5 years after the date on which its existence or registration was terminated, canceled, revoked or withdrawn. After the 5-year period has passed, the Commission has no authority to enter an order of reinstatement or restoration.
The first step toward reinstatement is to request from the Clerk’s Office a reinstatement packet that includes a reinstatement application, various forms, and the requirements for reinstatement, including required fees.
Request a reinstatement packet
Reinstatement packets are issued by the Clerk’s Office in accordance with the following schedule (Eastern Time)*.
|By Noon of a Business Day
||By 3:00 p.m. Next Business Day
|After Noon of a Business Day
||By 3:00 p.m. Second Business Day
Please note that the requirements for reinstatement are valid as of the date the packet is issued and that the requirements may change over time.
Reinstatements are made after an acceptable reinstatement application and all required forms and fees have been delivered to and processed by the Clerk’s Office.
* Subject to delay due to the receipt of an unusually large number of requests, staff outages, and office closures.