Notify me when this page changes.
The Agents Licensing Section handles all licensing processes for individuals
and business entities. This section screens applications, issues producer and public adjuster
licenses, tracks appointments, registers navigators, monitors regulatory requirements for
licensing, and responds to informational requests concerning insurance producers. There
are approximately 249,000 individual insurance agents, 14,000 insurance agencies, and
1,500 insurance companies conducting business in Virginia.
COVID-19 Update: Insurance Licensing Exam Centers
In response to the rapidly evolving situation around the coronavirus (COVID-19), Virginia insurance licensing examination test centers are being closed on a case-by-case basis.
Starting Tuesday, March 17, Pearson VUE is suspending test delivery at all Pearson VUE-owned test centers in the US and Canada for 30 days, until April 16. Some third-party test sites remain open. Affected licensing candidates will be provided instructions for scheduling new appointments on or after April 16, 2020.
All test center closures will be posted on Pearson VUE’s website at Coronavirus Update Page as closure decisions are made.
We apologize for any inconvenience caused.
Bureau of Insurance Extends Time for Application Submissions, Processing
The Virginia Bureau of Insurance extended the timeframe for applicants to submit required documentation from 30 days to 90 days. Application processing may exceed 15 business days. To check your application status or view license/appointment information, go to LicenseSearch.
Agent Licensing Changes Effective January 1, 2021
These changes do not apply to the 2019-2020 biennium
During the 2019 legislative session, several changes were made to agent licensing laws in Virginia that will become effective January 1, 2021. These changes will institute agent biennial license renewals, agent fingerprinting, and change the date by which agents must complete their continuing education.
Licensing Renewal Requirements
Beginning January 1, 2021, your license(s) will have an expiration date based on your birth month and odd/even year of birth. For example, if you were born in an odd-numbered year, your license will expire at the end of your birth month in odd-numbered years. If you were born in an even-numbered year, your license will expire at the end of your birth month in even-numbered years.
Licensed on or before January 1, 2021
You will have a minimum of 13 months before your first renewal.
Licensed after January 1, 2021
You will have a minimum of 13 months from the date your license was issued before renewal.
If you are a resident agent, completion of any continuing education requirements will be due at time of license renewal.
Your license(s) may be reinstated within twelve months from the renewal date due to non-renewal or failure to complete continuing education requirements. This does not apply to agents who fail to complete continuing education for the 2019-2020 biennium.
All agency licenses will renew on May 1, 2021 and every 2 years thereafter.
Contact Information Requirements
All licensed agents and business entities are required to have a current email address on file with the Bureau.
New resident applicants are required to be fingerprinted for a state and federal criminal background check.
We will be providing additional information at a later date.
Mar. 17, 2020 1:18 PM