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Who needs to be licensed as a Viatical Settlement Broker?  
 
 "Viatical Settlement Broker" means any person who, for another and for a fee, 
commission or other valuable consideration, offers or advertises the availability of 
viatical settlements, introduces viators to viatical settlement providers, or offers or 
attempts to negotiate viatical settlements between a viator and one or more viatical 
settlement providers.  "Viatical Settlement Broker" does not include an attorney, 
accountant or financial planner who is not paid by the viatical settlement provider or 
viatical settlement purchaser and who is retained to represent the viator.  Persons 
offering life settlements must be licensed as a Viatical Settlement Broker. 
 
 No person shall act as a viatical settlement broker, or solicit a viatical settlement 
contract or life settlement contract while acting as a viatical settlement broker, on or 
after January 1, 1998, without first obtaining a license from the Bureau of Insurance 
(“Bureau”).  
 
References: Chapter 71, Rules Governing Viatical Settlement Providers and Viatical 
Settlement Brokers at http://leg1.state.va.us/000/reg/TOC14005.HTM#C0071. 
 
Virginia Code § 38.2-6011, Fraud prevention and control at 
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+38.2-6011  
 
Virginia Code § 38.2-1865.1 through 38.2-1865.6 at  
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+TOC38020000018000000000000. 
 
How does an individual apply for a Viatical Settlement Broker License? 
 

 Individual applicants must be at least 18 years of age.   

 Visit www.scc.virginia.gov/boi/online.aspx  to apply online.   
License applications are processed in date received order. Visit 
www.scc.virginia.gov/boi/ConsumerInquiry to track a pending application or to view 
the license status. 
 

 Virginia resident applicants must either fax a current Criminal History Record 
Report to 804-371-9290 or email it to bureauofinsurance@scc.virginia.gov.  A 
criminal history record report must be obtained from the Virginia State Police.  Visit 
www.vsp.state.va.us to download the form (SP-167) or call 804-674-2000.  If you fail 
to provide a current (no more than 90 days old) criminal history record report, the 
Bureau will REFUSE to issue a license to you.  

 

 Letters of Certification are no longer required for the issuance of a nonresident 
individual license provided that the applicant’s state of residence is a participant of 
the NAIC’s Producer Data Base (“PDB”).  If the state of residence does not 
participate in the PDB, a letter of certification is required.  Nonresident licenses will 
be verified via an electronic verification process through the PDB prior to the 
issuance of the license. 
 

 The Bureau no longer mails licenses.  Please review Administrative Letter 2010-02 
online at www.scc.virginia.gov/boi/adminlets/allagents.aspx for information on 
verifying the license has been issued and printing the license online.  

http://www.scc.virginia.gov/boi/online.aspx
http://www.scc.virginia.gov/boi/ConsumerInquiry
mailto:bureauofinsurance@scc.virginia.gov
http://www.vsp.state.va.us/
http://www.scc.virginia.gov/boi/adminlets/allagents.aspx
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title14/agency5/chapter71
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title38.2/chapter60/section38.2-6011/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title38.2/chapter18/
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Licensing of Domestic and Foreign Partnerships, Corporations or Limited 
Liability Companies as a Viatical Settlement Broker 
 
 A business entity acting as a Viatical Settlement Broker is required to obtain a 
Viatical Settlement Broker’s license.  
 

 Apply online at www.scc.virginia.gov/boi/online.aspx.  Foreign business entities must 
apply through NIPR.  License applications are processed in date received order. 
Visit www.scc.virginia.gov/boi/ConsumerInquiry to track a pending application or to 
view the license status. 

 

 A business entity is not required to first obtain a certificate of authority, including a 
certificate of registration, certificate of organization, certificate of limited partnership, 
or charter, from the Commission prior to being eligible to obtain a license as an 
insurance agent, consultant, surplus lines broker, or viatical settlement broker.  
However, the business entity must still obtain the necessary certificate of 
authority within 90 days of licensure.  Failure to obtain that certificate of 
authority may result in the Bureau terminating the producer license.  Contact 
the Clerk’s Office at 804-371-9733 for details or visit www.scc.virginia.gov/clk. 
 

 Letters of Certification are no longer required for the issuance of a nonresident 
license provided that the applicant’s state of domicile/incorporation is a participant of 
the NAIC’s Producer Data Base (“PDB”).  If the state of domicile/incorporation does 
not participate in the PDB, a letter of certification is required.  Nonresident licenses 
will be verified via an electronic verification process through the PDB prior to the 
issuance of the license. 
 

 The business entity must have designated a licensed Viatical Settlement Broker as 
the individual responsible for the business entity’s compliance with the insurance 
laws, rules and regulations of Virginia.  The DRLP must be licensed and his/her 
information must have been reported to the PDB prior to applying for a business 
entity license.  A licensed agency may maintain its firm associations online at 
www.scc.virginia.gov/boi/online.aspx.  
 

 The Bureau no longer mails licenses.  Please review Administrative Letter 2010-02 
online at www.scc.virginia.gov/boi/adminlets/allagents.aspx for information on 
verifying the license has been issued and printing the license online. 

 
What are the license renewal requirements? 
 
 The license will be in effect for up to one year depending upon when it is issued 
and must be renewed prior to June 30 of each calendar year.  Regardless of when the 
license was issued in the calendar year it must be renewed prior to June 30 of that 
calendar year or the license will be administratively terminated for failure to renew.  The 
Bureau will mail a renewal notification to the Viatical Settlement Broker in April.  
Renewals must be submitted to the Bureau on or before June 1 and can be submitted 
online at www.scc.virginia.gov/boi/online.aspx. A criminal history record report is not 
required during the renewal period. 
 

http://www.scc.virginia.gov/boi/online.aspx
http://www.scc.virginia.gov/boi/ConsumerInquiry
http://www.scc.virginia.gov/clk
http://www.scc.virginia.gov/boi/online.aspx
http://www.scc.virginia.gov/boi/adminlets/allagents.aspx
http://www.scc.virginia.gov/boi/online.aspx
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Additional Information 
 
A Viatical Settlement Broker shall not, without the written agreement of the viator 
obtained before performing any services in connection with a viatical or life settlement, 
seek or obtain any compensation from the viator.  
 
A Viatical Settlement Broker shall within 60 days of licensure and annually thereafter by 
March 1 of each year certify to the Commission implementation of anti-fraud initiatives 
reasonably calculated to detect, prosecute, and prevent fraudulent viatical settlement 
acts.  Review Virginia Code § 38.2-6011 E at: 
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+38.2-6011 
 
 
MISCELLANEOUS 
 

I.   Address Changes 
 
 Every licensed producer is required by law to notify the Bureau within 30 
calendar days of any change of residence. You should change your address online at 
www.scc.virginia.gov/boi/online.aspx.  DO NOT USE A COMPANY OR ANY 
BUSINESS ADDRESS (INCLUDING PO BOX) AS THE INDIVIDUAL PRODUCER’S 
RESIDENCE OR MAILING ADDRESS.   
 
 Any licensed agent or viatical settlement broker who has moved his/her 
residence from this Commonwealth shall have all licenses terminated by the 
Commission. 
 

II. Name Changes 
 
 Every licensed producer is required by law to notify the Bureau in writing within 
30 calendar days of any change of name.  These changes can be made by 
downloading and properly completing the Bureau’s Service Request Form at 
www.scc.virginia.gov/boi/pro/formapp.aspx.  
 
 A copy of the marriage certificate, divorce decree, or court order is required.  
Please include your Virginia License Number or National Producer Number (“NPN”) with 
your request.  You must sign the request.  The Bureau will send you a duplicate license 
when we have processed your name change. 
 
III. Certifications 

 

 Based upon the national initiative for uniformity of state insurance regulation, 
most states do not require certification letters as a producer’s license status may be 
verified on the NAIC’s Producer Data Base (“PDB”), or on the Bureau’s website at 
www.scc.virginia.gov/boi/ConsumerInquiry. Nevertheless, a certification letter may be 
obtained online at www.sircon.com/virginia and printed from this site. 
 
 
 

http://www.scc.virginia.gov/boi/online.aspx
http://www.scc.virginia.gov/boi/pro/formapp.aspx
http://www.scc.virginia.gov/boi/ConsumerInquiry
http://www.sircon.com/virginia
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title38.2/chapter60/section38.2-6011/
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IV. Clearance Letters 

 
 Clearance letters must be requested by the viatical settlement broker (“VSB”), 
and submitted to the Bureau on the Service Request Form.  The request must include 
their Virginia License Number or National Producer Number (“NPN”), their new 
residence address, and the state the VSB is moving to.  The viatical settlement broker 
must sign the request.  All licenses and appointments will be terminated when the 
clearance is processed.  Visit www.scc.virginia.gov/boi/pro/formapp.aspx to download 
the form.   
 

V. Felony Conviction 
 

 An agent (resident or nonresident) is required by law to report to the Bureau 
within 30 calendar days the facts and circumstances regarding a conviction of or 
pleading guilty or nolo contendere to any felony offense.  This report shall include a 
copy of the order and other relevant legal documents. 
 
VI. Administrative Actions 

 
 An agent (resident or nonresident) is required by law to report to the Bureau 
within 30 calendar days the final disposition, to include a copy of the order, consent to 
order, and/or other relevant legal documents, of any administrative action taken against 
him in another jurisdiction or by another governmental agency.  Report administrative 
actions to the Bureau electronically via NIPR’s Attachment Warehouse – Reporting of 
Actions at https://pdb.nipr.com/docMgmt/main.html. 
 
 The above information is not intended to be all-inclusive.  If you have any 
questions or problems not addressed here, please contact the Bureau at 
bureauofinsurance@scc.virginia.gov or visit our website shown below. 
 

    Bureau of Insurance 
    Agents Licensing Section 
    P. O. Box 1157 
    Richmond, Virginia 23218 
    804-371-9631 
    804-371-9290 (Fax) 
    bureauofinsurance@scc.virginia.gov  

www.scc.virginia.gov/boi   

     
 

 

 

http://www.scc.virginia.gov/boi/pro/formapp.aspx
https://pdb.nipr.com/docMgmt/main.html
mailto:bureauofinsurance@scc.virginia.gov
mailto:bureauofinsurance@scc.virginia.gov
http://www.scc.virginia.gov/boi

